Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2011-04-24

Skarlett
United States
2011-04-18
An excellently made spring weight vest of a rich purple. I would highly suggest it to any gentleman looking to put a bit of flash to his ensemble without sacrificing good taste.The sizes do tend to run small so size up from your normal size.
Skymning
SW, United States
2011-04-18
Unfortunately, this hat is not a Coke/Bowler/Derby at all. At the very most it is an acceptable approximation of one. Closer inspection reveals its inferior quality and it should decidedly not be worn on formal occasions or when the quality and not just the look of one's garments is of the essence. But I expected as much, as it is plain off the picture if one knows what to look for. Even so, I bought both a black and a brown one for product sampling and decoration purposes only.When the hats arrived -- a lot sooner than expected, I must say -- I directly removed both the pins and the feathers. Pins are for women's hats only (to keep them in place) and for those who want to sport feathers in their hats these should really be acquired separately.The interior of the hats, however, is nothing short of a joke: The sweatband seems to be made out of lacquered cardboard and the lining is neither luxurious nor sewn in place, but exceedingly cheap-looking and simply glued to the inside of the crown. This made me very suspicious of the brand Capas generally.In sum: If you are shopping for a genuine Coke that you intend to wear on a more or less daily basis, do not get it here and be sure to avoid Capas hats. If you want a hat for decorative, LARP, or re-enactment purposes only this might do -- depending on your expectations, of course. Mine were obviously set a bit too high. Nontheless, the quality of this product does not really justify its price. What does is the difficulty to readily stumble upon a Coke hat that is both available in larger sizes, as well as readily affordable. Finally, a tip: If you do buy this hat, or this type of hat at all, getting it in one size larger than your normal hat size might be a good idea as the fit of a Coke differs from other models.
Lisa
CA, United States
2011-04-18
"Recommend to a friend" is a bit qualified - it would depend what they wanted it for. If it's only going to be looked at from the outside, great; the brass and the overall appearance are nice. The leather of the case and strap are pretty low-quality, but it's what I expected for the price. The only thing I was actually disappointed about was that I would have liked to be able to at least *see* through the thing. I wasn't expecting good optics or indeed any real magnification - just clear glass I could see through. But it's impossibly out of focus and there's obviously no way to focus it.
bamma
OH, United States
2011-04-18
I loved the suit. I am doing a Carriage drive with ourCarriage Club and it is to dress in vintage clothing late1800's and this works wonderfully. I also purchased thetouring hat to go with it and makes a great outfit.
bamma
OH, United States
2011-04-18
I was impressed with the quality and finish of thishat. The cost is very reasonable compared to others Ihave seen and the others were not near as detailed.This matches the victorian suit I purchased as well.
Silke
United States
2011-04-21
I love them! I wear them every day and they are very comfortable. At first I was a bit worried about which size to choose but they fit perfectly. The only bad thing is that they're easy to slip with on smooth surfaces but these elegant boots are worth it. The quality is also very good.
Bill the Butcher
OH, United States
2011-04-21
First off, shipping was extremely fast and their customer service is top-notch. The material used isn't exactly satin, a bit rougher, but the pattern is quite striking and looks sophisticated and intellectual but not "wierd". It can be worn with a modern suit for an excellent look. If you're looking for an alternative to the traditional tie, look no further. Five stars all around.
lar
CO, United States
2011-04-20
One of the buttons fell off when I unpacked it, and a second button was half an inch off. None of the button stitches were knotted. I spent an hour sewing them on and it's in good shape for when I volunteer... I think that attaching buttons with the intent of keeping them is fairly important when the buttons are not easy to replace...
Storyteller Tim Lowry
United States
2011-04-19
This helmet gives the perfect look of distressed leather without the expense of real leather. It fits my big head and is the perfect accessory for my comic routine about early 1900's inventions-- the aeroplane, motor car, etc.
Storyteller Tim Lowry
United States
2011-04-19
These trousers are comfortable and well made. The pin stripes make for a vintage look that sets the outfit apart from cheaper and less authentic costumes.
Storyteller Tim Lowry
United States
2011-04-19
Accessories make the costume. These goggles are good quality and were the perfect touch to my costume.
Storyteller Tim Lowry
United States
2011-04-19
Exactly what I was looking for. Excellent quality. Wore this coat for a 1910 event at an historic inn. Everybody thought I looked the part standing next to a 1910 Ford Roadster.
WARMACHINE13666
United States
2011-04-19
These goggles are exactly what I have been Hunting for, they are light weight, vent the eye's to keep from fogging up, completely adjustable, are padded well so they work in both summer and winter, And just scream Mad Scientist! I bought two right off the bat and checked them against each other for any common flaws and couldn't find anything wrong with them! Since then I took a pair out of state to a friends house and let her 4 year old son run rampant with them for almost a week and they came back completely in tact... In fact he liked them so much I ordered him a pair and me an extra one as well to modify! I have ordered 4 Pairs of these total so far two for myself and two as gifts for others and everyone so far has been nothing but pleased with them. The only real Warning I will give you is that if you leave these laying around the house with people over chances are someone is going to pick them up and start running around with them on... The first two pairs I bought have been messed with by roughly 17 people so far! And the General Opinion is that these are some killer goggles, I have yet to meet even an adult that can walk by and not pick them up if I leave them out!
tuckerwolf
CT, United States
2011-04-18
Fits fantastic and is adjustable. Able to be worn for steam punk or regular formal occasions.
Bobthemagiccow
MA, United States
2011-04-18
The hat itself isn't a perfect miniature top hat - it's a little lopsided, but that gives it character. It comes attached to a black hairband (so no hat pins necessary - although you'll have to disguise the band if you have light hair). I bought this for my date, to wear to a white-tie ball. She loved it, and it attracted a lot of comments from the crowd!
Ray
United States
2011-04-18
This is a very nice hat:).. It is pretty cool:)..I enjoy wearing occasionally:)...
Ray
United States
2011-04-18
I think out of all of my hats this is probably now my favorite I wear it all of the time it is very very cool:)..
None
NM, United States
2011-04-18
Very satisfied with quality and workmanship of product.
None
NM, United States
2011-04-18
Very satisfied with quality and workmanship of product.
None
NM, United States
2011-04-18
Very satisfied with quality and workmanship of product.
None
NM, United States
2011-04-18
Very satisfied with quality and workmanship of product.
Dave
United States
2011-04-18
Very well made vest, very attractive style, looks great and fits perfectly. I have received many compliments.
Rick
United States
2011-04-18
It was as advertised and an excellent product.

United States
2011-04-20
I purchased the belt & holster rig for my son who is a US Marine and will be using it with his western-themed shooting team. When I opened the box, I darn near had an experience that I sha'nt mention here, I was that stunned by the quality. If not for the color, I dare say that I wouldn't have sent it to him. I will most definitly be sending for another when my new Colt arrives. In one word;
George
GE, United States
2011-04-19
Sehr schickes Teil, nur zu empfehlen.
SonofCyrus
United States
2011-04-18
Very nice hat. Went great with my outfit. Fit great.
Leo921
AL, United States
2011-04-18
I was searching online for a gun belt as the prices for ones where I live are very high. I found this site and thought for this price I would try it out. The gunbelt that I received is of the highest quality and the tooling is outstanding. Also as an international shipment I received it within 5 Days!! Well done. If I order anything western it will be definitely through this company!!
Lee A
CO, United States
2011-04-20
Good fit, good quality, good service. What more can I say?
Jacqueline E
MA, United States
2011-04-20
the jacket we first ordered ended up being too small for my son. The person we spoke to on the phone was very attentive and helpful in explaining the measurements and sizing
Christopher C
CA, United States
2011-04-20
love the items and the web site
Michael B
KY, United States
2011-04-20
10. Thanks so much. The vests are beautiful.
Michael W
ID, United States
2011-04-20
Great quality products. Prompt service. Convenient, easy-to-use website. 100% satisfied.
Sherry H
CA, United States
2011-04-19
Linda G
PA, United States
2011-04-19
Friends who are into steampunk and want reasonably priced items.
Tim H
CA, United States
2011-04-19
The collar was the incorrect size, but the gloves exceeded expectatopms.
Ct C
WV, United States
2011-04-19
I absolutely love the hat I ordered; it is gorgeous and arrived in pristine condition. Excellent quality of both products I received; thanks for the prompt service as well.
Donal S
-, Ireland
2011-04-19
Very happy to recommend this
John D
AR, United States
2011-04-19
Stephen S
IL, United States
2011-04-19
Your website appeared to contain the best quality and variety of any of the websites I visited. I was not disappointed! I was very satisfied with my purchase and will continue to purchase other items from you in the future.
Luann T
MN, United States
2011-04-19
the purchase was a gift and my brother was VERY pleased with the item!
Charlene B
RI, United States
2011-04-24
Samuel A
MO, United States
2011-04-23
Jennifer H
WA, United States
2011-04-23
Good, quick service and nice product.
David H
MO, United States
2011-04-22
Very good service, will do again.
Dennis G
BC, Canada
2011-04-22
Response was prompt to request for information. Questions were answered well and product was of good quality and received in the expected amount of time.
Jacob A
VA, United States
2011-04-22
The pants were Excellent Quality! Thank you for a great product!
Michael W
NY, United States
2011-04-22
Brian B
PA, United States
2011-04-22
material very cheap. Some items fell apart immediately when taken out of box.
Dick H
NE, United States
2011-04-22
Products are excellent quality. Speedy shipping.
Christopher J
TX, United States
2011-04-22
Awesome products! Have already recommended to several friends!
Silke B
-, Belgium
2011-04-22
I'm very satisfied with your service: fast delivery and in perfect condition.
Adrienne O
FL, United States
2011-04-21
The items were fabulous and prices are excellent!
Tim P
TX, United States
2011-04-21
Pamela C
OH, United States
2011-04-21
thanks for the prompt service my order was exactly the quality i was looking for
Erick P
NY, United States
2011-04-21
Kelsey B
NC, United States
2011-04-21
The site was recommended from a friend and from the moment I checked out the site I fell in love with the clothing and accessories!
Gregory S
OH, United States
2011-04-21
Everything came in good order and the quality was adequate.
Matthew A
MD, United States
2011-04-21
Your emporium has great clothes at reasonable prices that are sure to turn heads at any event!
Jonathan W
ME, United States
2011-04-20
Weyman C
SC, United States
2011-04-20
Richard B
-, Switzerland
2011-04-20
I am very pleased with my pocket watch. It's excellent quality. It arrived on the time I was told it would. I do intend to order more from your website.
Morgan L
SC, United States
2011-04-20
Very pleased with the item I purchased. Quick shipping and nice packaging. Thank you!
Dane D
PA, United States
2011-04-20
After searching for this company on Google I was impressed by the line of clothing the company offered.
Jim B
KS, United States
2011-04-20
Jason D
IL, United States
2011-04-20
Nicostrati M
-, Italy
2011-04-20
Vincent R
OR, United States
2011-04-20
Excellent selection, superb quality.
Kim C
CA, United States
2011-04-20
I already have been recommending it to all my colleagues who dress up for teaching history. Great stuff, great quality. I love it!
Aimee W
NC, United States
2011-04-19
Wonderful communication, SHipped as promised, very happy
Jayne M
OR, United States
2011-04-19
I AM VERY HAPPY WITH THE PARASOL I ORDER, IT WAS SENT TO ME VERY FAST, AND I LOVE IT, THANKS
Jeffrey S
MN, United States
2011-04-19
Great Stuff!!! Wish you had a payment plan!!
Matthew R
OH, United States
2011-04-19
Everything I have ordered so far from here has come quickly in the mail and has exceeded my stamp of approval as a super picky artist! And in doing so I have recommended this site quite frequently to friends, family, and absolute strangers if they are loo
Myron S
PA, United States
2011-04-19
Good website, and good looking items.
Cindy K
IA, United States
2011-04-19
Excellent quality of goods and very fast shipping. Website is clear and well defined photos. Will use in the future.
Barbara D
KY, United States
2011-04-19
Kathryn B
VA, United States
2011-04-19
the item ordered was exactly as described on the web site, and the delivery was superb! It arrived in 2 days, even though I opted for the least costly shipping. Kuddos to Gentleman's Emporium.
Tom H
-, Norway
2011-04-19
Paul H
-, United States
2011-04-19
Service was good.
Rita R
NS, Australia
2011-04-19
I was very happy with my purchase and the prompt delivery. Thank you very much.
Martha L
TN, United States
2011-04-19
Although I have not seen the product, my grandson was thrilled with both the quality and design of his new pocket watch. I was very pleased with the speediness of your delivery. THANKS SO MUCH!
Tucker L
CT, United States
2011-04-19
Amanda C
AB, Canada
2011-04-19
Great service, great products! I was impressed with the fine quality of all the items that were ordered.
John D
NC, United States
2011-04-19
better than I expected
Lawrence F
NV, United States
2011-04-19
Stephanie M
ON, Canada
2011-04-19
A great website with fantastic pieces. I recieved my order much faster than I had anticipated and I couldn't have been happier with my purchase. I will definately consider purchases in the future.
Teesie A
NM, United States
2011-04-19
The service was great, quick.
Shani H
GA, United States
2011-04-19
Pamela B
MO, United States
2011-04-19
The service was good but the sizes weren't true to form. I ordered twice and both times the coat was too small. It gets expensive to send orders back, shipping is high so I didn't reorder a third time.
Pamela H
MI, United States
2011-04-19
We were very pleased with our order. The outfit is very authentic and the fit...superb!
Christopher B
CA, United States
2011-04-19
Great stuff at reasonable prices!
L M
MD, United States
2011-04-19
I thought that the service in answering my questions was excellent however I thought that the bow tie would be a bit larger as was fashionable at the time. Perhaps showing a picture of it with ruler next to it would help, or on a person.
Robert C
CO, United States
2011-04-19
Have re4commended you to a friend.
Ian C
AR, United States
2011-04-18
Joe H
WA, United States
2011-04-19
They always give Great Cusomter service and fallow up if something went a miss (which was my own fault since i didnt know how to work pocket watches lol.) this great site with gear you cant find much anywhere else and i love it!
Dwayne O
SC, United States
2011-04-18
Michael E
NY, United States
2011-04-18
Friendly, helpful customer service. Great quality product.
Rose W
WI, United States
2011-04-18
I was surprised at how costly an entire outfit is, but the quality was great. I didn't buy everything that I would have liked due to cost.
Rick S
TX, United States
2011-04-18
Love the shirt, fits great couldn't ask for more.
Slim B
NS, Australia
2011-04-18
I found the emporium quite efficient, delivery time from order to recieve was excellant
David W
AL, United States
2011-04-18
Mario I
CA, United States
2011-04-18
Great products,fast service.
Linda F
LA, United States
2011-04-18
Bobby D
IL, United States
2011-04-18
great merchandise, fast delivery
Robert S
PA, United States
2011-04-18
Only game in town
Alex M
NY, United States
2011-04-18
The service was great!
Terry D
FL, United States
2011-04-18
Jeff E
OR, United States
2011-04-18
I am very happy with the clothing,customer service,and shipping.
Chris J
NY, United States
2011-04-18
Recommendations have already been sent to a few of my friends as Gentleman's Emporium AND western Emporium not only have more of the items we require but a great selection and great service. I think it is very close to a one stop shop when it comes to my
Chad E
ON, Canada
2011-04-18
Tiffany M
NC, United States
2011-04-18
The website shows the items well, it's easy to navigate and informative. When I called on 2 different occassions, both sales reps were nice and helpful. My only drawback is the shipping. I had to return an item and the shipping costs both ways ended up be
John L
AL, United States
2011-04-18
Good value for the money
Linda G
NY, United States
2011-04-18
The purchase was a gift, but service was prompt and I know the recipient was pleased with it.
Joseph M
MA, United States
2011-04-18
Your site had stuff we didn't even know we wanted.
Jeremy B
VA, United States
2011-04-18
I am very happy with my order.
Alexander G
-, United States
2011-04-18
Mark B
NY, United States
2011-04-18
Paul H
NC, United States
2011-04-18
Hello , I am totally thrilled with the ease and competence I experienced in dealing with western Emporium.. I was also impressed with the lack of arguement about my not wanting to put my card #'s on the internet and c
Peter C
CO, United States
2011-04-18
Charles E
NC, United States
2011-04-18
i am completely satisfied with my purchase
Judy O
AB, Canada
2011-04-18
We were very satisfied with both the service and products (purchased for High School graduation). Everything fit perfectly and the quality is excellent. Obtaining shipping to Canada was effortless and timely.
Cathie M
CA, United States
2011-04-18
I was very satisfied with the entire transaction and will gladly recommend this company to my friends. Once you know the product, and know that you can be satisfied with the quality, it is easy to know whether or not to purchase clothing. As a costumer on
Charles S
MI, United States
2011-04-18
Lester P
CO, United States
2011-04-18
Jennifer H
TX, United States
2011-04-18
Very responsive and made a last minute shipment happen when there was a time crunch
Janice W
KS, United States
2011-04-18
Thomas B
MI, United States
2011-04-18
I've already recommended that some make purchases from you!
Spencer R
ME, United States
2011-04-18
AWSOME clothing! I wish I could afford to get MORE! Thanks for your biusness!
Andrew S
-, United States
2011-04-18
David R
NY, United States
2011-04-18
Friendly service and quick shipment made for a positive experience.
Gordon J
MA, United States
2011-04-18
Jace S
TN, United States
2011-04-18
Jo L
-, United States
2011-04-18
Excellent service, top quality and accurate sizing
Joshua S
OR, United States
2011-04-18
Great products at reasonable prices and fast shipping, what's not to recommend?
Lisa H
CA, United States
2011-04-18
Noah J
MA, United States
2011-04-18
The service was fantastic... I placed two orders within a two hour span, and actually got an email from a representative who noticed, and allowed me to combine them to save on postage. Thank You!
Peter E
ON, Canada
2011-04-18
I want to buy the long cavass coat but I am very leery that it will be too short and not of good quality, that is, not living up to the bombastic advertising you have here. Neat stuff, overboard advertising, average quality, too expensive for regular purchases, is the stuff made offshore? I suspect it it.
Tiffany G
TX, United States
2011-04-18
Christian P
MI, United States
2011-04-18
Excellent selection and fast service.
Caitlin B
CO, United States
2011-04-18
Great timing and satisfaction with order! Thank you!
Nicolas M
FL, United States
2011-04-18
Very good selection. Order arrived incredibly fast and the fit was perfect.
Bruce L
TX, United States
2011-04-18
Hilda S
AB, Canada
2011-04-18
Disappointed in lack of communication regarding my order and it's delay
Marcia S
VA, United States
2011-04-18
I experienced an excellent selection to choose from and a very secure online order process. The items that were ordered were a gift to my son. He said the items were high quality & fit very well. Also, the items were delivered very quickly. Thank you!
Vincent N
NY, United States
2011-04-18
I like the clothes, and I like the idea. I was a little disappointed that the sleeves on my size 44 jacket were shorter than on my other jackets, and that I had to have them let out quite a bit. Also, I thought that the jacket would be made in the USA, th
Jessica F
GA, United States
2011-04-18
Shipping was prompt, item was exactly as advertised (and lovely!) and ordering was easy. Sure thing.
Janice P
OH, United States
2011-04-18
Very pleased with prompt service and quality of items purchased. Would highly recommend to others.
Niklas P
-, Sweden
2011-04-18
I have already recommended The Emporium to several people. Excellent service, good-looking merchandise, and shipping was much faster than expected.
Edward B
CA, United States
2011-04-18
Elizabeth S
MN, United States
2011-04-18
Frederick S
NJ, United States
2011-04-18
The products exceeded my expectations. First class delivery.
Gregg G
NM, United States
2011-04-18
The Emporium has always delivered my order earlier than expected.
Brimm W
TX, United States
2011-04-18
I was extremely satisfied with all aspects of my experience with Gentleman's Emporium. The quality and cut of my clothes are excellent. The shipping was very quick and I had to return one item because it was too large and I had no problem getting the sm
Margaret B
TX, United States
2011-04-18
Heather K
-, Ireland
2011-04-18
I found the delivery prompt and the pricing more then reasonable. Thank you for a wonderful service!!!
Austin B
NM, United States
2011-04-18
Items fit well and were of high quality. I purchased from this site for a themed wedding, and overall I am extremely satisfied with my purchase.
David K
WY, United States
2011-04-18
Peter B
TX, United States
2011-04-18
William B
TX, United States
2011-04-18
What cool stuff, I will be back.
John G
CA, United States
2011-04-18
Order came promptly with correct content and sizes were accurate.
Kyle L
OH, United States
2011-04-18
I like your items thank you
Terry K
CO, United States
2011-04-18
John H
CA, United States
2011-04-18
The woman who helped me was unbelievably helpful. and went out of her way to make sure everything looked good and fit well Thank you
Sarah D
NY, United States
2011-04-18
The product is very good, the shipping was very fast and the uniqueness of the clothing is wonderful.
Arthur L
TX, United States
2011-04-18
Great product, fast shipping and competitive pricing
Jason M
NY, United States
2011-04-18
Originally I had put down an incorrect address, but they were quick to email me to let me know and as soon I had given them a correct email, my package arrived just two days later! The service here is fantastic and I will definitely recommend it to friend
Mary C
IN, United States
2011-04-18
Sam P
NC, United States
2011-04-18
Margaret G
MD, United States
2011-04-18
Rebecca F
AL, United States
2011-04-18
Elisha R
WA, United States
2011-04-18
The pocket watch I purchased for my fianc? was absolutely perfect. It shipped fast and arrived before expected, and was very well received.
Rebecca A
CO, United States
2011-04-18
The service was great and I had my items very quickly. The quality of the garments I purchased is excellent and my vest is much better quality than a similar vest that my boyfriend bought for himself at our local Western Shop.
Markus J
-, Sweden
2011-04-18
You did excellent!
Dee H
OR, United States
2011-04-18
Jeffrey A
CA, United States
2011-04-18
shipping was more expensive then it should have been. need more 'packages' of different combined concepts. one of the vests was out of stock. steampunk section is awesome.
Victor P
ON, Canada
2011-04-18
I have indeed recommended you, I'm very happy doing business with you, and will continue to do so, sincerely, Victor Packard, P.S. I',m looking out my window and it is snowing, spring time in Canada, lucky you!
Todd B
AZ, United States
2011-04-18
I just want to say I adore my windup pocket watch. It is gorgeous, well crafted, and didn't break the bank. I travel a lot for work and I have had some many people - from Philadelphia to San Diego - comment on what a lovely watch it is. It just makes me h
James M
MN, United States
2011-04-18
Great stuff I can't find elswhere.
Jones G
CA, United States
2011-04-18
Order was taken promptly and package was delivered ahead of time. Thank you
Steve T
NY, United States
2011-04-18
I think you're doing well. There's nothing to fix because nothing is broken. Of course, if you could reduce your prices
Walter S
LA, United States
2011-04-18
Excellent products and very fast service. Im happy!!!
George C
NY, United States
2011-04-18
The customer service was wonderful, the product was excellent - it was just a wonderful experience all around!!!
Leonard H
AB, Canada
2011-04-18
I am very pleased with my order and how fast I received it as an international shipment.
Michael Z
NJ, United States
2011-04-18
Prices were reasonable, and shipping was top-notch. The garments wwew exactly what I was looking for, though my one gripe was that one--a suit vest--had no interfacing and therefore did not sit quite as well as I would have hoped. I recognize that this
Alexandra R
TN, United States
2011-04-18
Carol N
CA, United States
2011-04-18
PERFECT! The parasol completed the look and the whole effect was a big hit at the historical monument dedication. Thanks!
Jean T
TX, United States
2011-04-18
May order was a last minute, I need it now request and it arrived prior to my need. Thank you so much.
Daniel H
CO, United States
2011-04-18
Rachel M
GA, United States
2011-04-18
Needed this for a film costume, and it was the first of all my pieces to arrive. It left promptly, arrived on time, and looked great!
Ann L
KY, United States
2011-04-18
Very easy to locate item, incredibly quick shipping!
Sandra S
NJ, United States
2011-04-18
I would recomended because of the fast service. The sizing is very accurate also. We love how they fit and true to the measurements.
Bruce L
OH, United States
2011-04-18
I recommend it to everyone. Fantastic site.
Mikeal P
MA, United States
2011-04-18

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service