Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2011-10-16

Roo
United States
2011-10-11
Got this vest to wear at my "Alice In Wonderland/Mad Tea Party" Wedding - absolutely love it! The material is beautiful, the subtle stripes on the back piece were an unexpected treat. I was thrilled that there were so many sizes available. The fabric is thinnish - this is probably not the vest for every day wear - but it made alternations easy (the vest is very generously sized.)
0ArmoredSoul0
WA, United States
2011-10-11
Amazingly well constructed for the price and they look just as good in person, if not better. The standard lenses are this really neat green glass and though the rings are a little hard to get off the first time around, they unscrew cleanly and without any harm to the lenses, at all. I love these things, I'm using them for sunglasses until I get the rest of my costume together.
Ann
CA, United States
2011-10-10
The quality of this outfit is excellent. It is well made and will last. The jacket is just as the picture shows. It does not close. Great clothes and great website! Fast service!
Miss Kitty
United States
2011-10-10
This hat is an excellent version of the hats worn in the civil war period!
Falcon Eddie
TE, United States
2011-10-10
Exactly what I wanted. They will go perfectly with my Dickens Period costume down in Galveston this December. Excellent quality.
Regalo
PA, United States
2011-10-10
I was very pleasantly surprised to find that this ascot is made like a real tie. Like many of the emporium's products that I've come across, this is not in any way costume-like, it's all made as if they were real clothing and accessories. I admit it looks much better in person than what I see on the website.
Regalo
PA, United States
2011-10-10
Although I would normally wear this shirt for events such as anime cons and renaissance fairs, it is actually very functional and breathable. In fact, I think it's more functional and breathable than most dress shirts I've come across. When I first tried it on, it was more comfortable than I thought, I can move my arms freely in any direction. I did however had to get use how billowy this torso is, but I usually have it tucked in my pants and have a vest over it so it's no big deal at all.
Regalo
PA, United States
2011-10-10
These are a very well made pair of gauntlets. The sizing couldn't be better, it was as if they used my hand as a mold for these gloves. Also, the leather itself seems to be tanned all the way through which wouldn't have those nasty cracks. These gauntlets are very soft so when I put them on, I gently let my hand through. I also think these gloves could be made in fewer pieces so it would lessen the likelihood of them falling apart but they seem very sturdy anyway. The stitching itself isn't bad, but it is somewhat questionable. But despite of that, I still love these things.
ryan
GA, United States
2011-10-15
this is a great vest. everyone loved it at the event last night. my only complaint is that the pockets were sewn up tighter than fort knox, and it took quite some time to open them up. otherwise, awesome vest.
Curious Packrat
United States
2011-10-14
I wasn't sure about what size to get and the lady I spoke with recommended I go with the waist size which proved to be a very valuable recommendation. I ended up needing to "stuff" my bust but if I had gone with that measurement the waist on the skirt would definitely have been too small! Not much would have been able to be done about that except to return and request the next larger size and I didn't have time to do that. So I very much appreciated her advice on that issue. I received many compliments on the outfit and was very pleased at how comfortable and easily wearable it was. I was a bit concerned about dealing with all those tiny buttons on the top as I have Parkinson's but they were actually not too difficult to button and unbutton at all!Great service on the phone with my questions and order and I received the product in exactly the time I was told to expect it.
jeanmarine
CA, United States
2011-10-13
This shirt will be part of my Halloween costume, I am going as Jack the Ripper! It is perfect for the times! Thanks!!
Magpie
WA, United States
2011-10-13
This derby looks great with my latest steampunk outfit (Vigilante pants, Victorian dress shirt, canvas double-breasted vest, Paisley Ascot). It is made of a firm felt and has a stylish band and feather - very dapper!
Magpie
WA, United States
2011-10-13
This is a stunning looking waistcoat (vest). The colour and double breasted design really make it stand out. Using it for a steampunk costume, but will also use this for Victorian events.
Magpie
WA, United States
2011-10-13
The great thing about this shirt is that I can use it for steampunk, Victorian and Western outfits. Looks great with vigilante trousers and braces (suspenders).
Magpie
WA, United States
2011-10-13
I love these trousers - they look authentic and feel like I'm wearing jeans. Make sure to order a size up (I ordered 34 because I'm a 33, but needed 36 - the exchange was very fast, btw).
eddie
CA, United States
2011-10-12
This item was made in China - nothing wrong with this (I was born in China) ...However, the shirt I bought before was made in USA, and it was much better.
Stephanie
United States
2011-10-12
I ordered this product in a small, but I would say that it fits more like a medium or even a large! If you are a very petite lady, I would not recommend this product unless you don't mind altering it to fit as I have had to to. Otherwise it is a lovely vest-- it is made out of quality materials and would be perfect if I were a little larger.
sir wayne
United States
2011-10-12
good design and very versitile.
sir wayne
United States
2011-10-12
a little pricey but absoolutely beautiful, fine fit and wears well
sir wayne
United States
2011-10-12
good value for money
sir wayne
United States
2011-10-12
excelloent white canvas spats for formal balls
shellerella
United States
2011-10-12
My husband is 6'0" and is normally a medium t-shirt. We had no idea how to order based on t-shirt sizing, until we called. The customer service rep walked me through.My husband received SO MANY compliments! It is beautiful.Tailored very well, and an easy to pair color. We have discovered that he isn't a "suit" guy, he is a "Vest" guy. And we will be buying more in the future.
GirlScoutMom
TX, United States
2011-10-12
I received my skirt less than a week from order date, which was rather nice. I was very impressed with the comfort, style, and workmanship it displayed. It's quite a nice skirt and I consider it to be a good value. My only complaint is on sizing. I wish the size chart showed a lower and upper range to account for the really nifty adjustable button panel. (Great feature for us women who tend to fluctuate in size a little!) I tend be on the bubble between L and XL, so usually go with the larger size to allow a margin for error and I didn't need to do so in this case. I'd say the XL would be comfortable on a 36-38" waist. Even when adjusted to it's smallest it was a bit too loose for my taste. The L is more true to 33-35", though the chart says 33". (I wear it with one button adjusted inwards for a more secure fit.) The length on the L is perfect with a slight heal on my shoes (I am 5'6" with long torso and average length legs). The XL was noticably (about 2") longer. For these skirts, I suggest you measure as snug as you want the waistband to fit, then know that the size chart shows the low end of the spectrum the skirt will fit and has about 2" of adjustment available upwards. That will help you get a correct fit the first time and save return and re-shipping charges. I should note that the return process for the larger skirt was painless and that my credit was received promptly with no issues, so even the customer service was great!
Bill
AL, United States
2011-10-11
This is a well-made shirt and is comfortable. However, it is 100% cotton, which makes it authentic, but also makes it very hard to keep wrinkle-free. Proper use of our iron and ironing board failed to get all the wrinkles out. I wish a few threads of polyester could have been woven in.
Mel
United States
2011-10-11
The shirt is evrything and more of what I expected. Do not make the mistake I did and order compared to sizing in local stores (european). The shirts are true to size and not made cheaply.
DAuge2B
United States
2011-10-11
This is a fun skirt for my victorian wedding in February 2012!
DAuge2B
United States
2011-10-11
this is great! It works well with Ruby tafeta skirt and silk blouse
Isobel
AU, United States
2011-10-11
These are a lovely breezy pair of pants. I am yet to wash them so they are yet to shrink, but the quality is really good and they go really well with my steampunk outfit.
Isobel
AU, United States
2011-10-11
The is a really high quality corset. I was not expecting the quality I received and was plesantly surprised. The front latches are a little difficult to do up when trying to put the corset on, so I ended up doing them up and putting the whole item on over my head, then using the back lashes to tighten it. This may or may not be how your actually meant to do it...
Isobel
AU, United States
2011-10-11
I love this gun so much. It is a lot heavier than expected, which gives it a really well made feel. None of the dials or widgets do anything, but this was not expected to be the case. The complimentary stand was also really appreciated because it gives a sturdy place to store my new favourite toy.
Isobel
AU, United States
2011-10-11
These look so great tied to my derby hat I also purchased. The only problem was the fabric tie-cord broke twice in the first minute of attaching them to my hat, this is fine because it is a two minute job to repair ir replace them. Otherwise, for a vintage item I was really pleased with the quality.
Isobel
AU, United States
2011-10-11
This hat is really high quality. You can't tell from the picture but it has a little feather in the decorative band, which really adds to the authenticity. It's a bit large, but that is my head's fault.
Gram
United States
2011-10-11
Unkown
United States
2011-10-11
Good quality product just not exactly what I wanted.
Eestlanna
CA, United States
2011-10-10
I am thoroughly delighted by the quality and versatility of this beautiful corset, not to mention the very favourable price. It is being used as an authentically styled undergarment for an older matron's historical costume ensemble. I am surprised by how comfortable it really is, once the laces have been adjusted ... not what I expected at all. It effectively creates the shape and posturing required for the outer garments to drape properly. The next time I order I corset, I will, however, get a slightly larger size, so that the laces don't have to be extended quite as far at the hips. Although this corset has been designed with the figures of younger women in mind, I can highly recommend it for historical costumers of a 'vintage age' as well. This is a very good product.
Clarkbarmom
United States
2011-10-10
Beautiful fan! Sturdy and very functional. Much nicer than I expected!
Jobra
United States
2011-10-10
Great item. Excellent quality. Fast shipping. Great communication. Very satisfied
Clarkbarmom
United States
2011-10-10
Excellent Hair Net! Very good quality that will not rip apart! It stayed in my hair without having to use bobby pins, and it did not slip.
deedee
United States
2011-10-10
This skirt worked perfect for me. I would say the waste was a little large and I had to take it in.
Pixie
MN, United States
2011-10-10
You've got more customers now! Three coworkers want petticoats too, our office is so cold, all the time, and we are not allowed heaters under the desk.So, I solved the problem.Now I look fabulous, and I'm toasty warm.Will be getting additional colours as well.
Pixie
MN, United States
2011-10-10
Love! Getting in all colours!Most period clothing I have found are good for one wear - then fall apart.This is REAL clothing, made to last.I will be getting natural and black next.
Quim
United States
2011-10-10
Great style, nice quality, fair price. I highly recommend this gloves, I love my pair.
Deputy Bob
United States
2011-10-10
I ordered this vest with a shirt similar to the one shown with it. Though I had to resequire the vest buttons, the vest was a perfect fit and the new Pipestone shirt(collarless also)looked great with it. At the wedding, I had women I didn't know approaching ME!! DANG...wish I woulda known about the Emporium years ago!
Trinket64
CA, United States
2011-10-10
Scrambling to get ready for work this morning, my husband & I had a good laugh when we realized we were both headed out the door in our "Safety Foremost" tees! Just received them, and they're already a favorite. The cotton is nice & soft, and they kept their shape after washing & drying. As usual, prompt delivery & great customer service from the Emporium Staff!!
cjd71
United States
2011-10-10
cjd71
United States
2011-10-10
Nice pair of trousers that goes great with the matching crimson canvas vest. The sizing recomendation of one size up from your usual was spot on for me.
cjd71
United States
2011-10-10
Quality construction, nice attention to detail and a very comfortable fit.
bunch
United States
2011-10-10
I use this product as part of a historical outfit used at a museum. This is the 2nd one I have ordered. The first one lasted 8 years!!!!and was used on a regular basis. The only reason not given 5 stars, the original one had the watch face facing the wearer of the pendant, which I loved. The second, the face faces outward, which means it is upside down to the person wearing the pendant. Just something I hope is fixed if I purchase another one.
cjd71
United States
2011-10-10
The glasses look just fine, but I have to admit I find them very uncomfortable to wear due to their ear wire wraps.
Pickle
United States
2011-10-10
It is a very attractive watch. I had to go on line to find one, because there wasn't anyone in our town that carried them. Am very satisfied with both the design, price and service.
Liv
CA, United States
2011-10-10
I think the sizes might run a little bit, but it's always better to have more than less. The material is very easy to work with so it won't be that difficult to make adjustments myself.
Liv
CA, United States
2011-10-10
The material was way better than I expected and is not limp or lightweight. I really needed something I could dance in and not be worried about it lifting up.
IMVUsteampunk
SK, United States
2011-10-10
This top hat was perfect. The quality of the hat was top notch and i couldn't have been more happy with it. I would defiantly recommend this to a friend.And it was very fast shipping. Tysm XD
tinker
OH, United States
2011-10-11
very nice product. good fit, the real mccoy.
Johnny Aces
United States
2011-10-11
I purchased a number of products at the same time and was very pleased with the quality of all of them, including this holster. This will look a treat for my 40th birthday wild west party. Also, the parcel arrived in good time to Aus. Just a couple of short weeks.
Johnny Aces
United States
2011-10-11
Good quality product. I am very happy with the look and feel. Product arrived in Aus after just a couple of weeks which I thought as acceptable.
Sud Man
KY, United States
2011-10-11
If you like to wear vests this one is very good choice if you have or are going to purchase the Highland frock Coat. It matches the fabric and design of the Highland frock coat perfectly. This vest is a good quality dress vest. If most of your height is in your upper body the regular sizes may be a little short in length. I would suggest ordering a tall size if available in this case.
Sud Man
KY, United States
2011-10-11
I recently purchased this coat and am very satisfied with it. It was the exact length I was expecting. One of it's better qualities is that it will allow wind to pass through it and not burn you up even though it is black. It flows very well too. I would recommend this coat for Autumn, Fall, and Spring. Purchase the Wool frock Coat if you want a coat to keep you warm in the winter. I have both of them, and receive complements on a daily basis with them.
Mel
United States
2011-10-11
This shirt is very comfortable and worth the extra week wait. A shirt that you can wear anytime and is better than store bought.
whitney0549
IL, United States
2011-10-10
This was used for a halloween costume. It was just as described and true to size!
Sherif David
CA, United States
2011-10-10
Well made and fits great. Looking foward to showing my friends at the next cowboy shoot.
Sherif David
CA, United States
2011-10-10
After getting the token I found that it was for my hometown of Jackson. I remember the stories of the houses downtown and now I have a token that I can use there.
Sherif David
CA, United States
2011-10-10
Great pants and very well made. I did not pick up on the fact that the pants are not lenght specific, you get really long legs and have to get them cut to your size. This is a good idea but has prevented me from using them until I grow or get the pants cut shorter.
Doc
MO, United States
2011-10-10
Good value and nice finish. Good fit to my Ruger Vaquero. Would recommend.
Jonnie L
CA, United States
2011-10-10
I ordered a blouse in XL, and the blouse that came had a tag that said XL, but it wasn't even close to that size. More like a Small or X-small.
Nils N
-, Norway
2011-10-10
As a Jehova's Witness, we do like to dress ourselves very pretty to honor Jehovah god on our spiritual meetings by being dressed nicely, i speak only for myself since i personally are a bit old fashioned but i always recieve compliments for my choosing of style.
Elizabeth W
BC, Canada
2011-10-10
Hard to find such good quality items with good fit, good pricing and hassle free delivery such as yours.
Gregory T
TX, United States
2011-10-10
several things I considered buying were not available in my size with no indication of when they would next be in stock.
Laura M
KS, United States
2011-10-10
Joy P
MI, United States
2011-10-10
limited sizing-LOTS of out of stock good selection decent prices
Scott S
NT, Australia
2011-10-16
Simona B
TX, United States
2011-10-15
Absolutely wonderful!!!
Norwyn S
ON, Canada
2011-10-14
Everything came in exactly as described and in a timely fashion. Overall quality of merchandise was excellent.
Stefan K
-, Switzerland
2011-10-14
Jeanie R
CA, United States
2011-10-14
The advice I was given on which size to get was very definitely helpful. I appreciated being able to talk to someone when I called with my questions.
Jean H
CA, United States
2011-10-14
Kristi G
ME, United States
2011-10-13
Mark D
WA, United States
2011-10-13
Delivery was very fast, and so was the one exchange I made, which helped me feel at ease about getting my outfit ready in time. The example outfits on the web site really helped me to decide what would work for me.
Lisha M
TX, United States
2011-10-13
I love the quality of what I bought, but some of the thing I was looking at were out of stock in my size.
Stephanie H
MT, United States
2011-10-13
I have found quite a few of the items on the site at other websites for significantly less. A great site to inspire costume design, and sometimes to shop, but not always the best value.
Stephen S
WA, United States
2011-10-12
Already have.
Kim B
VA, United States
2011-10-12
I loved the quality. My Sister purchased items too. We had a great time at the Old Fashioned Days at the Church and won the contest for best dressed.
Janice F
ON, Canada
2011-10-12
John D
-, United States
2011-10-12
clothes look great and fit as you directed.when i can rob a bank(wearing my new outlaw gear of course,bank robber needs a certain style)i'm gonna buy me some more.the only downside is the customs and postal thing going on here,?33.00!maybe they should wear your gear!
Elizabeth C
CA, United States
2011-10-12
Isobel A
TA, Australia
2011-10-12
Love your site. Awesome super fast shipping to Australia.
Judith Z
FL, United States
2011-10-11
quality of fabric was terrible.
Anne G
-, France
2011-10-11
The order went perfectly well, the package came without any damage and very safely protected. A must-order company. Thank you so much
Danael Z
IA, United States
2011-10-11
Had a different variety of things than what I would find at Riverjunction.com. I tend to shop there because it's local to me but like I said, you have some different things.
Chris R
CA, United States
2011-10-11
We have purchased several items for our wedding and recommended the site to our Officiant and Wedding Party. Everything we've purchased has been lovely and arrived quickly - thank goodness as we found this site late in the planning process! We'll be back to buy more soon - can't wait to get some of those great trousers and some other gifts and sundries. Love this site and the great, speedy service!
Geoffrey R
NC, United States
2011-10-11
On my first order, the items shipped later than promised. On my most recent order, out of the box, a pocket watch did not work. That said, I'm really glad you folks exist.
Andrew T
CA, United States
2011-10-11
Ivar O
-, Norway
2011-10-11
Service was exellent, prices were good, quality is superb and shipping was fast. I have already descided to buy all my clothes from this site from now on, and have told all my friends about this site!
Kathleen H
WA, United States
2011-10-11
Michael J
WA, Australia
2011-10-11
John N
WA, Australia
2011-10-11
Very happy with the products I received and the speed with which they arrived in western Australia.
Terry K
CA, United States
2011-10-11
Fast and efficient service. Product was better than expected.
Chris T
MS, United States
2011-10-11
Great product. However shipping could be better. Shipped 3 seperate items and i could only track one of the packages which wasn't even the most expensive item i had. Would perfer to have all items shipped in the same container.
Travis H
VI, Australia
2011-10-11
Easy access to uncommon goods.
Ann-marie B
SA, Australia
2011-10-11
I couldn't be more pleased with anything!
Elizabeth S
OH, United States
2011-10-11
price was reasonable and The Emporium has a great selection.
Diane B
WI, United States
2011-10-11
I already have recommended it to multiple people.
Maree H
VI, Australia
2011-10-11
Styles that I could not find anywhere else
Cheryl M
CA, United States
2011-10-11
Great clothes and styles!
Darrell B
MT, United States
2011-10-11
Allan C
WA, Australia
2011-10-11
Clothes were a little shabby, but otherwise the service was excellent.
Drew T
WV, United States
2011-10-11
I was disappointed that I was not contacted when one of the items in my order was on back-order, causing the entire order to be held-up.
Anne C
WA, Australia
2011-10-11
Laura A
OH, United States
2011-10-11
The quality of the clothing was good and the order was delivered quickly.
Ruth H
KS, United States
2011-10-11
Amy B
OH, United States
2011-10-10
Christina D
MI, United States
2011-10-10
Though I wasn't able to get one item of my order, I don't blame the you guys. It happens. For the most part I got what I ordered soon after I ordered it. And its good quality stuff. The vest was a bit pricy but I think thats just the item in general and not overly so. Anyway if I need anymore for my costume I'll most likely hit up here first before I look else-where.
Roy A
WA, United States
2011-10-10
Stephen P
PA, United States
2011-10-10
The shipping is very quick and the items are in great quality.
Gary G
MD, United States
2011-10-10
Karl S
CA, United States
2011-10-10
Good stuff, well made.
Aimee B
MI, United States
2011-10-10
I received my item very promptly. And it was in great condition! Thanks so much!
Gyger J
Switzerland
2011-10-10
My English is not good. But its articles are better than my English.
Albert N
CT, United States
2011-10-10
Order came fast and was everything I expected.
Jack G
WA, United States
2011-10-10
Styles that I could not find anywhere else
Bennett T
WA, United States
2011-10-10
Best selection, trusted quality, and accurate
John P
WI, United States
2011-10-10
Overall I was generally pleased with my transaction. Any hesitation to recommend to others comes from the discrepancies that I experienced between the description/photos of items and what I actually received. i.e. Gaunlet style gloves not really gaunlet style gloves (too short) or the condition in which I recieved them. i.e aviator cap missing stitching on earflap brass goggles fabric nose connector strap arrived torn in storage can . I tend to adapt (repair) things that I receive in less than ideal condition. Many of my friends are not so flexible in their outlook. As I said though, other than the issues cited above, cool stuff, and I will buy from you again I am sure.
Marilyn H
FL, United States
2011-10-10
Juliann D
MN, United States
2011-10-10
I already sent the URL to three coworkers - they LOVE the petticoats!
John B
FL, United States
2011-10-10
Great products and at a fair price. Like my items so much I've already ordered more in a different color.
Michele S
MO, United States
2011-10-10
Donna K
TX, United States
2011-10-10
Your products have been of good quality and service is quick to respond. I will continue to order from you all.
Bob R
OH, United States
2011-10-10
My order was for an outfit to wear to a wedding. There, people asked where I'd gotten it. So...I've already recommended the Emporium. Also, I've spoken to your customer service twice...the ladies were very polite and informative.
Connie M
MN, United States
2011-10-10
What a great website! The skirt I ordered was perfect, just what I had wanted.
Gatis B
-, Latvia
2011-10-10
I had wonderful experience with Historical Emporium, my purchase arrived just in time for the event I bought it for. And it fits well on me, and it looks just as in online store.
Derek G
AZ, United States
2011-10-10
Justin L
AK, United States
2011-10-10
Quality and service are as always, exceptional.
Fred C
CA, United States
2011-10-10
I am very pleased with the quality of the merchandise I purchased and with the service I received from this site. I recommend them for your historical outfitting needs!
Jeneth H
FL, United States
2011-10-10
Great service. I received my order quickly. No complaints.
Michelle T
FL, United States
2011-10-10
Best price for the type of clothing I was searching for.
Karin M
MO, United States
2011-10-10
Christy C
OK, United States
2011-10-10
We are completely thrilled to have found you all!!

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service