Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2011-11-20

Mary
PA, United States
2011-11-19
Catwalk
United States
2011-11-18
I was surprised of the quality & price of this holsterI've seen the same type & style of holster costing two times more than this one. Really it's a child hood dream come true, I have my 45 six shooter & one hell of a holster to go with it..................
operalover
United States
2011-11-17
I bought this for my young adult son, who enjoys getting dressed up. He wore it to opening night of a new opera company in our city, with his tux, and the compliments never ceased. As an added benefit, it drew lots of attention from the ladies, as a great conversation piece. It shipped promptly and any wrinkles ironed out with little effort.
alfie
DE, United States
2011-11-17
The fall front trousers are made for the AVERAGE sized person. The fabric is OK, but at $98, I expected better quality & fit, even if it is a costume. I had to return them. I didn't buy the larger size because I had aleady done so when I ordered.
Nelle
United States
2011-11-16
I wore the black petticoat, red Lucille Walking Suit, black opera gloves, and black books, and yet this is the piece that received the most compliments!
Nelle
United States
2011-11-16
Perfect fit, thanks to the sizing chart. Excellent construction. Comfortable enough to wear all day. I received many compliments throughout the day and can't wait for the next occasion to wear it!!
Nelle
United States
2011-11-16
Excellent construction. A perfect petticoat, yet nice enough to wear as a skirt.
Ironmarmot
United States
2011-11-16
Needed these for the screw ring goggles I'd gotten my boys for Halloween. Switched out the green tint ones for these so they could see at night.
Ironmarmot
United States
2011-11-16
Boys loved them as compliments to their 'mad scientist' Halloween costumes. They wear them constantly. Thinking about getting a third pair just for me.
periodthree
AU, United States
2011-11-15
Great quality cotton and authentic metal buttons. The pleated bib at the front and yoke at the back will make you look the goods at your next western Action match.
shopgirl
United States
2011-11-15
This hat is really nice. Hat base is black straw, so the hat is light and comfortable. The exact measurements are: Round Brim: 15" wide (3" from crown to edge). Crown: 7" wide x 3.5" high. There is a fine cognac velvet on the crown, covered with a cocoa crochet "lace". The feathers on the front-to-sides are wispy ostrich (in tow different lengths) in cognac and cocoa (a really good match to the fabrics!). There is a large bronze silk rose in front of the crown, just different enough in colour to provide a lovely accent. Soft, black lace covers the top of the brim. The net pouf on back of the brim is about 6" high. The fall of netting down back is 29" from the brim edge. I am 5'2" and the hat does look large on my head, but then, very few women wear hats like this these days. So, it takes some getting used to the look! However, based on the compliments I have received as an edwardian-era docent at our local museum, it is a winner! Oh, you might want a hat pin while wearing this or, do as I have donw, and hand-sew a piece of elastic to hold the hat in place behind-&-under your hair. I used a tinted elastic and it blends-in with my hair invisibly!
shopgirl
United States
2011-11-15
These are lovely gloves. They are a synthetic (like an isotoner), so if you are looking for a more historically accurate fabric, these might not be for you. BUT, if you want a nice pair of gloves, that will do for most situations, these are the ones. I have small hands and they fit nicely.
shopgirl
United States
2011-11-15
This hat is lovely and fits on a smaller woman quite well. I am 5'2" and it does not overwhelm! Fine velvet on the crown with small black feathers and bronze silk flowers in front of the crown. The netting down the back is very fine and hangs down about 23" from the brim (the pouf of netting on the back is about 2" above the crown). The hat is 7.5" wide x 11.5" long (with a 3" deep crown). There is a black elastic to help hold the hat on your head (the strap should be worn behind your head, under your hair, not under your chin!)You won't be disappointed!
Kate
United States
2011-11-15
A good basic for a mid 19th century look. Be careful: you'll need a great deal of hair to make it look good!
Kate
United States
2011-11-15
This is THE accessory you need to complete your victorian evening costume. I love the fact that you can carry it in two different ways (adaptable).
Kate
United States
2011-11-15
It's large, it's comfortable to wear and it has a wonderful bottle green color. Looks great both as a detail of your costume and for everyday wear.
Kate
United States
2011-11-15
Great idea for a great pair of trousers…or…is it a skirt?! Very original, I got a lot of compliments. Be careful: Sizes run VERY generously for that item.
Kate
United States
2011-11-15
Great idea for a great pair of trousers…or…is it a skirt?! Very original, I got a lot of compliments. Be careful: Sizes run VERY generously for that item.
Kate
United States
2011-11-15
A really nice blouse, not only for your victorian costume. Wear it with a pair of jeans - it looks great!
mashley
United States
2011-11-15
I wear these shirts with the Chadwick waistcoat over the top. The shirts fit very well, and look much nicer with a waistcoat than a more modern style shirt with a pointed collar. The material and colours are lovely.
mashley
United States
2011-11-15
I wear these shirts with the Chadwick waistcoat over the top. The shirts fit very well, and look much nicer with a waistcoat than a more modern style shirt with a pointed collar. The material and colours are lovely.
mashley
United States
2011-11-15
Perfect fit, very good quality and look incredible with the matching waistcoat and/or a nice set of braces.
mashley
United States
2011-11-15
Lovely fitting product - snug round the waist and slightly more generous in the chest. Looks absolutely fantastic on, especially with the matching trousers. I have had so many compliments while wearing this item. Seems to be very good quality material and the colours are gorgeous.
tshack
TX, United States
2011-11-15
Good product, good value, good service
ArtGecko
ON, United States
2011-11-15
Very happy with this purchase. The blouse is well made and very handsome (!) The (international) transaction was smooth and trouble free.
ArtGecko
ON, United States
2011-11-15
Very nice, good quality skirt. The button closures at the back work great. I'm very satisfied with this purchase - the (international) transaction was very smooth and trouble-free.
ArtGecko
ON, United States
2011-11-15
I bought these boots to wear in a play, set at the turn of the century. I have had them for about 3 weeks now and wear them pretty much every day to work (I have to wear them in, my character would never have new boots!) I bought them 1/2 size larger than I usually wear - they fit really well and are very comfortable. I've even had several (non-actor) people ask me where I bought them. These are well-made boots. The only issue I had with them is that the bottom of the boots are smooth and too slippery. I had to get rubber soles (and heels) put on them, otherwise I would risk slipping off of the stage(!)
Sky Griffin
FL, United States
2011-11-15
The gauntlets I purchased were the result of several hours spent on seeking the best looking costume gloves for my steampunk Red Robin costume. I felt the look of genuine leather would add the authenticity that cloth or vinyl could not. The explanation of the size chart worked perfectly and I am quite pleased.
Agathon
United States
2011-11-14
I had intended to order the harlequin blue ascot, but, since it was no longer available, I ordered this purple paisley ascot instead. The pattern and diversity of colors in this neck tie did not disappoint me. I've worn it three times since it arrived, and I am very pleased. However, its fabric is stiffer than normal satin and so it's more difficult to tie with the traditional ascot square knot (which is basically like tying a large floppy bow tie, omitting the bows). I still would recommend this tie to anyone inclined to admire or wear one.
sailman
United States
2011-11-14
I'm very pleased with the suspenders. I am happy that buttons were included as I had to attach them to regular slacks. (what a job it was to get the belt loops off!) Sorry, but I prefer modern permanent press slacks with streach bands in them to wool that has to be dry cleaned. Nice leather ends on them. It takes some time to place the buttons right as to where your gut is for ANY suspenders to get them to look proper.
LydieDevereux
United States
2011-11-14
This watch was a gift for my fiance, who loved it and showed it to the whole family. So far, it's perfect!
LydieDevereux
United States
2011-11-14
This product was a delight to my fiance, who received it as a gift. It is fun and it really magnifies. Its only fault is that the clip is loose, and sometimes does not stay on his glasses.
sailman
United States
2011-11-14
I was very pleased with the cane. I have been looking since the last Dickens Christmas fair for one including many antique stores. I was supprised it came from an American cane company that makes canes like you'd find at a medical supply. It is not a toy or costume item. It even comes with instructions as to how to cut it to fit you. One improvement I made was to add a 3/4" metal furniture glide (tack on style) to the end to replace the rubber tip. (danger it could cause slipping hazard)
Karyn
United States
2011-11-14
cowboy418
OK, United States
2011-11-14
The shirt fit perfectly, and I have had numerous comments about how great it looks. I would highly recommend this and other products to people who are looking for great looking clothes,and finally made clothing.
J' Man
United States
2011-11-14
I wear hats, have since I was a young boy. My Grandfather was from the American generation that wore hats, and he passed the love of a good hat to me. I had a Bowler/Derby years ago, but it disappeared, so I had been looking. My taste goes towards fur felt only because a Fedora I still have is close to twenty years old; the fur felt just doesn't wear out. But the cost of fur felt is just getting high. I read all the reviews and placed my order. I was shocked! The quality of this Bowler is very high. I've rarely encountered a wool felt that is lined, let alone blocked so well. Wearing it I garner the nicest comments on style, fit, and color. Living in Oregon this Bowler is going to experience some weather, and so far it has performed without flinching. I am so pleased it is hard to put into words, suffice it to say, if you are in the market for a top notch Bowler/Derby, not a costume hat, this is the one to purchase; shipping was reasonable and lightning fast. Well done. Very satisfied in Oregon.
Boot lover
United States
2011-11-14
Very comfortable. Good quality leather. I really enjoy wearing them. Good tip on going up a half size.
gamesguy1
United States
2011-11-14
Jen
TX, United States
2011-11-14
Jen
TX, United States
2011-11-14
I love this convertible riding skirt. I only got the Black but I think I'm going to purchase the Brown as well. They are so comfy I want to wear them all the time.
Jen
TX, United States
2011-11-14
imjustlori
United States
2011-11-14
The skirt arrived in record time, and was exactly as described. The fabric quality and fit was above and beyond, making this a skirt I want to wear all the time.
JG
United States
2011-11-14
I would like to compliment you on a vest which I purchased from your store. It is the canvas double-breasted vest, in wheat color. This vest goes well with my blue blazer, my houndstooth jacket, and my tweed jacket. It was part of my ensemble (trousers, shirt, tie, houndstooth jacket, cap) that garnered a compliment from a passerby when I was walking along Fifth Avenue in New York. The canvas is strong, and it provides a mild amount of warmth, and it is machine washable. The four pockets enable me to carry my pocket watch (watch in one pocket, clasp in another pocket, and the chain across the middle) and it still leaves a pocket for my cell phone and one to spare. All in all, this is a versatile, complimentary and useful vest. Thank you for a very good product.
Vondella la Creme
NV, United States
2011-11-15
This tie was an important part of my husband's wedding attire. He looked absolutely tantalizing in it! The quality is excellent and the color is rich and manly. I just could not stop telling him how deliciously handsome he was in his black cherry Puff tie. Of course emphasizing the P in Puff made it all the more fun. I highly recommend this item!
periodthree
AU, United States
2011-11-15
Classy. This tie is guaranteed to dress you up for your next shindig. I'm seriously considering this as part of my new corporate wardrobe.
Blue
UK, United States
2011-11-15
Excellent quality and fits perfectly, I really like the fatigued quality of the leather giving it that well worn texture that usually takes years of wearing to achieve. I like it so much that I am thinking of buying the matching jacket.
Blue
UK, United States
2011-11-15
excellent quality, fits like a glove and arrived quickly and well packaged. The other good thing is that you pay the UK VAT to the delivery courier on the doorstep unlike Parcelforce who hold items at their depot and sent you a card telling you to pay on line. A truly great quality buy.
Steve
MI, United States
2011-11-14
I am happy with the western belt and holster that I bought.My Charles Daley single action .45LC looks great in it.I even post a photo of both together on my FaceBook account.My shooting friends on there were very impressed with it.The price was reasonable the tooling is great.I may be buying another belt and holster in the future for a .22 single action pistol that I'm planning on getting.
Flavio
SW, United States
2011-11-14
The belt and holster have a magnificent making, finish and fittingand they look great too.I can only recommend this product to everybody.
Biker Andy
EN, United States
2011-11-14
I can honestly say that the quality of the item, and the speed of service provided was first class.
Cedric H
IL, United States
2011-11-15
Chris B
MI, United States
2011-11-15
Kathleen W
PA, United States
2011-11-15
This is a great store, Prices are reasonable, fast delivery, and great customer service. I definitly buy here again.
Brian H
AK, United States
2011-11-15
Charles T
VA, United States
2011-11-15
Wide selection of items that are both well-made and well-priced.
Robert S
OR, United States
2011-11-15
excellent service, Thank you
Robyn V
CA, United States
2011-11-15
My first item was received broken. The team responding quickly and fixed the issue.
Arun K
NS, Australia
2011-11-15
Excellent service and high quality products
Nathan L
AB, Canada
2011-11-15
I love the idea of the site, but unfortunately, I'm a very tall guy and not everything that I bought... fit me. I realize that that's not the site's fault, as the manufacturers are the ones with the control over it, but it's still disappointing.
Jesse H
QL, Australia
2011-11-15
The international shipping costs seem much higher than I'd expect ($30 to send a scarf?) but the products are excellent quality and priced very reasonably.
Ralph P
NL, Canada
2011-11-14
Very satisfied with my coat.Excellent quality and workmanship.
Andrew F
NJ, United States
2011-11-18
Great service and merchandise. I just wish that there were more medium vests in stock, so that I could expand my collection.
William B
TX, United States
2011-11-18
The majority of my order was up and beyond of what I expected. I'am very pleased and will return for some items next year! However, I feel it would be very helpful to not only list the waistline sizes but also the lengths of the pants. The pants I ordered fit very well about my waist, however, the legs extended past my feet by three to four inches. And I wasn't in a position to have them tailored. Yet, all said and done, this was a worthwhile order and I shall return!
Neil A
DE, United States
2011-11-17
I thought quality and cut would reflect real (vs. costume) clothing. I'm attending a period ball & need not only to look the part, but have enough room/flex for dancing & free movement. At the prices paid, I expected more. The bottom line is that these outfits are costumes vs. daily wear clothing. Material is kept to a minimum & doesn't lend itself to alterations other than leg and sleeve length. The cuts are standardized to regular or average fit, so if you are a bit rounder in the shoulder, wider in the chest, etc, you must make allowance in the size you order, not the size you would normally wear. People who use your products aren't the average party-goer interested in single-use clothing. They are conservatives who want products that fit their body type, lend themselves to alteration, and feel roomy/comfortable for multiple use. They don't want tp feel a bind when they raise their arms, and don't want to feel a squeeze in their thighs when the waist fits properly.
Claudia M
-, Switzerland
2011-11-17
John K
TX, United States
2011-11-16
Unique items I have been unable to locate from other merchants
Carl S
IN, United States
2011-11-16
After multiple orders, I could not be more satisfied. Products and Customer service is exceptional. I am asked constantly where I found these and I always give them your name. Please keep up the good work. A customer and fan for life, Dave Snyder
Janelle P
ID, United States
2011-11-16
Wonderful customer service. Excellent quality. Super-fast shipping.
Karla F
KS, United States
2011-11-16
Larry C
SK, Canada
2011-11-16
Paul J
CA, United States
2011-11-16
The coat was even better than advertised, and the shipping was lightning fast.
Geoffrey H
NH, United States
2011-11-16
This is my third order from you, and I've been very happy every time. Thanks for the good service!
Nat H
TX, United States
2011-11-16
Donna W
AL, United States
2011-11-16
The coachman's hat ,man's black vest, monocule,and ladies black parasole were a perfect fit and shipped to us in a few days. We received so many compliments that we were not only featured in the newspaper but asked to appear on live TV because of your costumes. Thanks a million for helping us to feel special in our Charles Dickens victorian time period.
Michelle D
OH, United States
2011-11-15
Read some of your reports from other customers ie., sizing etc and took there comments to heart and was very pleased with results of my order
Leslie S
WA, United States
2011-11-15
I have been very impressed with both the quality of products and the speed of delivery with the items I have ordered.
Famille V
-, Switzerland
2011-11-15
Would recomend to people who are looking for a good basic victorian look.
Mark A
-, United States
2011-11-15
Excellent customer service, very fast turnaround of my order, and high quality products as always.
Vanessa C
ON, Canada
2011-11-15
Very happy with my purchases. Would definitely shop here again.
Timothy B
TX, United States
2011-11-15
David O
WI, United States
2011-11-15
Paul H
MD, United States
2011-11-15
Martyn P
AZ, United States
2011-11-15
Unique products, good quality
James F
ON, Canada
2011-11-15
Service is always excellent and orders are promptly shipped. Goods always arrive in good condition. Very pleased to do business with Historical Emporium.
Tim V
FL, United States
2011-11-15
The gentleman who assisted me was very helpful..
Tom S
TN, United States
2011-11-15
Gerard H
MA, United States
2011-11-15
Exactly what we were looking for and great timing on getting it out.i am sure we will visit again
Reed P
ID, United States
2011-11-15
Love the style,Quality and fast shipping.
Daniel F
Switzerland
2011-11-15
Everything was in perfect order and the duration for the shippment to arrive was minimal. 10/10
Kimberly L
UT, United States
2011-11-15
The products are a little overpriced, and the shipping takes too long - even when you pay the gazillion dollars for Expedited. However, it's a great site to get ideas at the very least.
Jenita S
-, Finland
2011-11-15
Very good and fast delivery. What I ordered came to the destination very fast and arrived safely.
Cheryl B
MI, United States
2011-11-15
Chase K
NJ, United States
2011-11-15
The legitimate quality of the products, the well-designed and easy-to-use website, the witty products and descriptions.
Michal M
NJ, United States
2011-11-15
Robert B
TX, United States
2011-11-15
Shannon B
MI, United States
2011-11-15
My service was excellent. I received my products very quickly, much quicker than I imagined I would. I wish the products had come with instructions, or maybe some sort or historical detail. A quirky fact, perhaps. Other than that, I loved them.
Gregg J
OR, United States
2011-11-15
Great Bowler/Derby...lightning fast shipping, more than hoped for.
Amy K
NC, United States
2011-11-15
While the product is very good, most of my friends and colleagues do not have that kind of money to spare...

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service