Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2012-02-26

nancy
WV, United States
2012-02-24
The only reason I gave this a 4 star rating is because it's made in China! Authentic products should be made in the USA
Todd
TX, United States
2012-02-20
This is a really nice looking pith helmet. It looks (to my untrained eye) mostly authentic. It's made of quality materials (except for the chin strap), and doesn't look cheap, or like a "costume piece." It's also comfortable to wear. I had two problems with it: One, it's pretty big in circumference. It stood way out from my head, and looked a bit too big for me. Maybe that's how pith helmets are supposed to fit, but I couldn't help fearing that I looked like Dark Helmet from Spaceballs. (To be clear, that IS an exaggeration, it's not actually THAT big.) Two, the chin strap is clearly made of synthetic material and looks kind of cheap. This problem is exaggerated by the way it's attached. One side of the strap mostly looks like leather unless you get really close to it, but the back side / inside is blatantly not leather. The problem is, the way it's attached, the inside doesn't stay on the inside. It has sort of a half-twist to it, so that however you adjust it, part of the cheap-looking back side is showing. Looks aside, the chin strap was functional. One other reviewer said that his strap didn't work, but I didn't have any problems with mine, other than the cosmetic. Overall, I'd recommend this, but it's not perfect.
MRM
NY, United States
2012-02-21
Looks great, fits like a dream, and arrived very quickly! A great vest easily used in many different scenarios.
MRM
NY, United States
2012-02-21
This top hat is very well made. The quality of it surprised me when it arrived. I had ordered this (and other pieces) only 5 days before needing them. The staff was very understanding and I received my shipment within the next 2 days! Extraordinary!
MRM
NY, United States
2012-02-21
I absolutely love this pocket watch. It has both classic and unique elements to its design and it well made. I will certainly make use of this watch more often in everyday life!
MRM
NY, United States
2012-02-21
The Consolidator surpassed all expectations! I did not think that it would fit as nicely in my hand or have the weight that it had. The quality of the details is wonderful and it has become quite the conversation piece!
Dan S.
United States
2012-02-21
I wish we had found your site much sooner! My wife wore this skirt with the velvet tailcoat and cognac hat. Together they are a dynamite outfit. We will be buying clothing from this site for a long time to come.
Dan S.
NE, United States
2012-02-21
My wife was given many compliments on this hat.
Dan S.
NE, United States
2012-02-21
My wife wore this to a party and people couldn't stop complimenting her!
Dane Von O?tenb?rt
United States
2012-02-22
David Johnston
Ireland
2012-02-22
Got married recently ? very casual, unconventional affair after 18 or so years together. Bought this for the occasion and wore it with the Forty Niner Vest (we call them waistcoats ? more manly!). Be-dazzled everyone ? male guests in particular very envious! Thankfully it wasn't a frivolous purchase as I didn't read the small print until too late and got hit for local import duty and sales taxes when the goods were delivered thus making a reasonable price very expensive! I'll just have to become more socially active or start wearing it for barbecues, shopping trips etc. Despite all of this, it's a beautiful garment.
David Johnston
Ireland
2012-02-22
Went beautifully with my Velvet Trimmed edwardian Morning Coat wedding garb.
David Johnston
Ireland
2012-02-22
Bought this to go with my Velvet Trimmed edwardian Morning Coat and Forty Niner Waistcoat wedding gear. Disappointed as collar was too big (I'm 15?" which should have been ok with the medium size). Got away with it by wearing it with the collar turned up, top button fastened and scarf tied inside the turned up collar..... This garment is not in the same league as the coat and waistcoat. My wife will probably wear it as a night shirt!
Jack Wilshere
United States
2012-02-22
A fashionable gentleman could not do better. I wear a size 12 or 13 shoe, normally the latter, and I went with a 12 in this case and they fit well, maybe even a little large. I would recommend them to anyone.
Fran Thomson
CA, United States
2012-02-24
The burgundy ladies suit was gorgeous, well made, and far exceeded my expectations as to quality. Paired with the Abbington blouse, it was elegant and dressy enough for the Champagne Tea that our local public television station gave to celebrate the end of season two of Dowington Abbey.
ELaine Davis
NE, United States
2012-02-24
Excellent quality great fit. Love them
M Paris
QU, Canada
2012-02-24
Excellent prop, small and perfect to carry on a belt!
M Paris
United States
2012-02-24
Much bigger and heavier than I thought, wonderful set and photographs well!
M Paris
United States
2012-02-24
Awesome quality and detail - it has a certain weight to it to and definitely doesn't look cheap at all! Photographs well and looks real!
MA Hoffman
PA, United States
2012-02-24
Love it so far. Nicely detailed. Seems well made.
M Paris
United States
2012-02-24
If you're going to buy just one of these things, THIS is the one! Awesome quality and detail - it has a certain weight to it to and definitely doesn't look cheap at all! Photographs well and looks real!

United States
2012-02-24
Great Value, Great hat
Thom Carling
CT, United States
2012-02-24
What a terrific shirt! Color; pattern; cut. Beautiful. From now on, I'll be buying all my clothes from you guys. Keep up the excellent work! Many thanks.
Josh Hamman
MI, United States
2012-02-24
Overall I like these goggles, they have a great look to them. I purchased them with the intent of customizing them and this is why I am only giving them 3 stars. The base construction is soft foam, and while this makes them comfortable to wear, it make a poor base for any extra attachements. If you are just going for the raw look of these then they are a good purchase.
Thom Carling
CT, United States
2012-02-24
Got the monocle for my Steam-Punk 11-year-old. He's chuffed and never leaves home without it. Thanks guys!
Mark
CO, United States
2012-02-24
This was a gift for my wife, and she loved it!
Thom Carling
CT, United States
2012-02-24
Got the goggles for my Steam-Punk 11-year-old. He never takes them off! If he's a happy chappy, so am I. Thanks!

United States
2012-02-24
I purchased these goggles for my son. They came very quickly and well packaged. My son followed the directions for taking off the black and just leaving the distressed natural brass look. he loves this era and he's thrilled with the goggles. We will be ordering more from this site.
Darell Fowler
TX, United States
2012-02-24
Excellent quality vest. I bought an extra large but it was too tight. Sent it back using their really easy return form. Got the larger vest in no time. I usually hate returning anything but this was easy and painless. I highly recommend the vest and buying from Historical Emporium.
Archi
France
2012-02-24
Tr?s bonne qualit?... A porter avec un paletot, une blouse, ou un manteau ?pais plut?t qu'avec une veste trop fine pour aller avec.
Ellovan Minorlas
CA, United States
2012-02-24
This was my first order with Historical Emporium - after reading a bevy of rave reviews, I decided to take the plunge on a smaller accessory, and I'm not disappointed in the least. The ascot arrived ahead of schedule, well protected in its packaging and attached to the matching pocket square by a single thread. The color is dark and rich, and it shimmers quite beautifully at different angles, highlighting in succession the background, the paisley pattern, and the dots. The detail in the pattern is simply gorgeous. While it isn't made of silk, the ascot is smooth and pliable; the texture is like a thin silk tie that has embroidered patterns or stripes. The Emporium lived up to its reputation and I'm happy to have found a source for victorian dress. I've already recommended the site to several friends and I'll surely use it again. As a side note, the ascot isn't necessarily limited to victorian fashion. I've worn it with a black 3-piece suit to legal seminars and received only compliments.
Ellovan Minorlas
CA, United States
2012-02-24
This was my first order with Historical Emporium - after reading a bevy of rave reviews, I decided to take the plunge on a smaller accessory, and I'm not disappointed in the least. The ascot arrived ahead of schedule, well protected in its packaging and attached to the matching pocket square by a single thread. The color is dark and rich, and it shimmers quite beautifully at different angles, highlighting in succession the background, the paisley pattern, and the dots. The detail in the pattern is simply gorgeous. While it isn't made of silk, the ascot is smooth and pliable; the texture is like a thin silk tie that has embroidered patterns or stripes. The Emporium lived up to its reputation and I'm happy to have found a source for victorian dress. I've already recommended the site to several friends and I'll surely use it again. As a side note, the ascot isn't necessarily limited to victorian fashion. I've worn it with a black 3-piece suit to legal seminars and received only compliments.
Bob Dorian
MI, United States
2012-02-24
I'm very happy with my Pith Helmet and have recommended it to others already. Fast shipment and an easy purchase on your web site. I happily recommend you to all my friends and those who want quality steampunk products.
Jonathan
CA, United States
2012-02-24
I bought this blouse as a gift for my wife on Valentines Day. She wore it to church and had women gathered around her to admire the very feminine garment. Better yet, I acheived a new level of respect from the ladies for my good taste. It's a winner.
Rowan Twentyseven
OH, United States
2012-02-24
I love these! Have not yet worn them, but look forward to including them in a steampunk costume. They are well made, beautiful, and worth the price.
James Chapman
MN, United States
2012-02-24
Very pleased with the holster I ordered, would highly recommend to anyone.

United States
2012-02-24
This coat is great! The material is much nicer than it looked like online, which was a relief. The pictures do not do it justice! My only small gripe is how the tails attach to the coat. If you stop and look at it, I think it looks like a coat... which someone attached tails to. Instead of a coat with tails. The tails transition at a sharp angle into the coat. The funny part is this actually works out great for my need. I'm using it as my wedding jacket, and planned on removing the tails anyway. Now I can have them removed right at the seam instead of having to rely on the tailor to redo the edging once they cut the tails off.
Rowan Twentyseven
OH, United States
2012-02-24
When my daughter saw these, she was impressed by their quality - for the same price, they were better than a pair she'd purchased the week before at a convention. I love the dark lenses - great for winter and my sensitivity to outdoor light.
Rowan Twentyseven
OH, United States
2012-02-24
I got this as a gift for my husband. The magnifier is a nice touch. However, it is definately a costume item, hence only 4 stars.
Sheila
TX, United States
2012-02-24
Totally satisfied.
Charles Schneider
CA, United States
2012-02-24
A fine waistcoat. Ideal for daily use. A substantial, sardonic vest. Quite good for a magician.
Scottish Mad Hatter
MI, United States
2012-02-24
Very lightweight and well made. Striking! Recieved many positive comments the first time I wore it. The vest fits perfectly and even comes with a spare button inside. Thank you.
Julie Snook
VI, Australia
2012-02-24
Very nice cotton and well made camisole.
Julie Snook
VI, Australia
2012-02-24
What an awesome garment. Beautifully made with intricate detail and fits perfectly.
Bruce G.
NE, United States
2012-02-24
Exactly what I wanted and expected! The hat is light, looks very nice, and the leather adjustment straps are very easy to set. I doubt the straps are "original authentic" since they use a hook and loop patch for adjusting but they work and make the hat quite secure and comfortable. As for historical emporium- great service, very fast shipping and I will definitely be ordering from them again! Really like this topper... Thank you Emporium!!! b
Sinclair Lewiston
AK, United States
2012-02-24
It looks fetching. The quality is OK. Some of the stitching on the buttonholes is loose and I had to disentangle the buttons to get it open. My biggest complaint is that the pockets are not real, which means they will not hold a pocket watch.
Sinclair Lewiston
AK, United States
2012-02-24
Good quality. Just be aware that this shirt will require some 19th century laundering expertise; and maybe some starch. No amount of my inexperienced ironing could remove the wrinkles, but since I wear it under a jacket, it is not noticeable. Other than that, I have no complaints.
Bruce G.
NE, United States
2012-02-24
I purchased these after reading several reviews. I thought they would be fun to pull out when fly fishing with a friend. (neither one of us is getting younger!) But they work great! I now take them to work and use them for soldering surface mount components. I did slightly modify the clip that holds them onto the glasses frame. But once I did that, they have been great! b
Bruce Giard
NE, United States
2012-02-24
This is a fun pocket piece! It is solid brass and does magnify slightly. But it is not for any real use. This is a fun piece to pull out to accent a joke or amuse friends with. So it's exactly as advertised and is fine for what it is meant to be... just don't expect more than you are paying for.
Carlos
MI, United States
2012-02-24
I'm happy to comment that my receipt of the loupy clip-on was as I expected. This is partly because of the quality of design of the website. I expected consistency and was not dissappointed. The product is well made and very attractive as an object of design. I will return for more.
M Duardo
CA, United States
2012-02-24
As stated in another review, the cravat is not as "authenticaly" handmade as one may hope. Also, it would be nice if it did come in a greater length. However, knowing these facts, I am quite satified with the product and find it quite funcional.
M Duardo
CA, United States
2012-02-24
Though it might be a little more "olive" but I am absolutly satisfied with vest. Will probably order more vests from site. This is a quality item.
T.R Fontaine
NO, Canada
2012-02-24
Fit like a glove right out of the box, after a little shaping (to get that "Bat Masterson" look) and steaming to which it really responded well, it now suits my own taste and I'm styling like its 1889! A fine quality item!

United States
2012-02-25
A great suit. put it on for sun protection and ware your skimpy bathing shorts under them for real swimming.
markste
Switzerland
2012-02-25
The shipping was, once again, incredible fast. The cut and the Size of the frock fits me just perfectly. The Fabric is very comfortable to wear and doesn't make me swat. It matches perfect with the Highland pants and the vest I bought earlier. The Buttons were stiched a little flimsy and after 2 times wearing the coat I had to reattach them. But a fantastic piece of Clothing which looks just grat
markste
Switzerland
2012-02-25
Fabulous, just fabulous
Tom
PA, United States
2012-02-25
The belt and holster were way better than I expected. The staff made my shopping experience great. They were more helpful than anyone could expect. I plan on buying another belt and holster in the near future, and I can assure you, I'll be back!!
Anthony Cutroneo
NE, United States
2012-02-25
To: Customer Service: Is this the only rating up to 5??? I think it should be up to 10. On 2/03/2012 I called to order a holster and gunbelt item (001731W) and spoke to Noel he said if it was okay to call back monday of the following week because you where in transition of moving. On monday 2/06/2012 I called at about 12:00 o'clock and got to speck to Noel. I am glad I did he was very understanding to all my questions about the item and also pointed out to me about the sizing. I am also glad you sent me this e-mail, because I have called other companies about there personnel, such a Bass, Cheaper than dirt, Cimarron and etc. P.S. A Company is only as good as it's personnel, (NOEL/Rating 10+)

United States
2012-02-25
Fantastic vest, goes with everything. Great style and quality...goes well with modern clothes as well....I get lots of compliments from my co-workers...could not find anything else near the same quality for this price.
Pat
CO, United States
2012-02-25
I bought this skirt for a murder mystery set in the west in 1884. It was not just a perfect costume, but I'm sure I'll wear it again! I love it. Great quality. Long enough (!) Wonderful in every way.
Ray Rivera
FL, United States
2012-02-21
Exactly what I wanted. You guys are the best.
John Jeggo
ES, United States
2012-02-24
Wow what gtreat shirts ! Well inpressed with them ( brought scullys because I already have a Tom horn ) so I assumed correctly that the xl would fit me ! ,especially be a larger Englishman .would recommend these to any one !
Norvella L
NJ, United States
2012-02-26
Love it wearing it in polar bear plunge in the ocean for the benefit of special children
Merilyn A
ON, Canada
2012-02-26
Very pleased with product and shipping arrangements.
Jerry A
QC, Canada
2012-02-25
I'm really happy to make business with you Best Regard
Jonathon C
AR, United States
2012-02-25
great quality product! Very unique assortment of appearal.
Peter F
BC, Canada
2012-02-25
There are a number of people I volunteer with who will be keenly interested to see how well the product wears--it has to perform as well as look good! The price seems fair enough, and overall, I think that the effort required to replace the buttons with historic replicas will be well worth it. Many eyes will be on your product this summer.
Adam T
GA, United States
2012-02-24
I called customer service to place an order. The Lady I spoke with was very helpful! We needed a quick delivery because I found the site in a rush for a charity event. My shipment was delivered quickly and the Baithing Suite I ordered was perfect!! I would highly recommend this site to anyone.
Haydn M
-, United States
2012-02-24
Already have recommended Historical Emporium to friends and other people, this shop is amazing. It's cheap, easy and the products are of damn good quality, well done.
Daniel S
OR, United States
2012-02-24
Disapointed by another vendor
Thomas S
CO, United States
2012-02-24
Sizes are sometimes hard to judge. Fortunately I'm starting this project early so I have time to adjust if necessary.
Robert D
MO, United States
2012-02-24
I'm very happy with my Pith Helmet and have recommended it to others already. Fast shipment and an easy purchase on your web site.
Rick F
NY, United States
2012-02-24
awesome!! great with my new Ruger Blackhawk
Barbara N
CA, United States
2012-02-24
Marilyn E
FL, United States
2012-02-24
Fast service and product was as advertised and met all expectations
Sara G
TN, United States
2012-02-24
Have not received my order yet...
George C
CA, United States
2012-02-24
I found everythink I was looking for and plan on purchasing more in the future.
Thom C
CT, United States
2012-02-24
Keith P
AB, Canada
2012-02-24
Kate B
-, Australia
2012-02-24
Price and quality seemed reasonable.
David P
CA, United States
2012-02-24
I love the selection you have.
Nancy G
WV, United States
2012-02-24
had the product for a good price
Rachel R
IL, United States
2012-02-24
Jordan S
SC, United States
2012-02-24
Your sizing information was spot on, the selection was great, and the shipping was superbly fast. My only wish is that you guys sent an e-mail that had shipping information or provided some way to let a customer know when their items shipped and possibly where they were.
Ed U
MT, United States
2012-02-24
Norman P
-, United States
2012-02-24
Had just what I wanted at the right price
Pat S
NY, United States
2012-02-24
amazingly fast delivery, vest exactly as described
Perry K
MN, United States
2012-02-22
Great service, very fast, the items are wonderful...just out of stock on alot of sizes.
Dana Y
MI, United States
2012-02-22
Good products and fast shipping. I'd complain more about the price but I can't fault on the quality of the merchandise.
Toni E
CA, United States
2012-02-21
MY HUSBAND HAS PURCHASED SEVERAL ITEMS. I ENJOY YOUR WEBSITE VERY MUCH. I WAS QUITE PLEASED WITH THE DELIVERY TIME. THE ITEMS MY HUSBAND HAS PURCHASED ARE AWESOME. I WOULD LIKE TO SEE A LARGER SELECTION OF WOMEN'S CLOTHING HOWEVER.
Robert S
KS, United States
2012-02-26
The clothing shipped exactly on schedule and arrived in perfect condition. Easily adjusts for fitting and comes together nicely. Will definitely be buying again. :)
Tracy M
MD, United States
2012-02-26
Ann G
AR, United States
2012-02-26
Good quality, good price, fast shipping. Nicest customer service people I have dealt with in a long time
Richard K
MD, United States
2012-02-26
Very nice, quality shirt that I purchased. Unfortunately, I had to return it likeas they told me I couldn't be fitted with the correct size as my neck size is too large for them to fit properly. An 18 1/2 neck is not that unusual. Ooh well, I would still like to get the shirt. Maybe they could offer custom sizing.
Richard M
IN, United States
2012-02-26
Michael R
#N, Australia
2012-02-26
Exceptional service!
Chris W
PA, United States
2012-02-26
Billy H
KY, United States
2012-02-25
Brian S
CA, United States
2012-02-25
Fantastic vest, goes with everything. Great style and quality...goes well with modern clothes as well....I get lots of compliments from my co-workers...could not find anything else near the same quality for this price. Order arrived faster than I expected
George H
IL, United States
2012-02-25
Thomas P
PA, United States
2012-02-25
Belt and holster are Great. Sales staff awesome!!
Stanford P
GA, United States
2012-02-25
Ilove my cap. It is of great quality and I recieved it in good time. Thanks a lot.
Hadrien P
-, France
2012-02-25
Very fast shipping and good product
Randy M
HI, United States
2012-02-25
Great service
Richard B
SA, Australia
2012-02-25
Goods are great, spoil't by poor packaging You used the largest box you could find. Not the usps small fixed rate box as I suggested . thereby costing me $25- more. Not happy!
Jenny M
WA, Australia
2012-02-25
Super fast delivery and high quality product, very happy customer
Slim B
NS, Australia
2012-02-25
Very happy with the transaction, delivery and items...
Michael J
MD, United States
2012-02-25
I was pleased with the variety and quality of the merchandise offered at Historical Emporium.
Thomas F
NS, Canada
2012-02-25
Fantastic concept but low/no stock on many highly desireable items and sizes.
Claudia G
NC, United States
2012-02-25
Marc D
CA, United States
2012-02-25
Evan G
CA, United States
2012-02-25
Lightning fast delivery ahead of schedule, excellent quality product.
Bruce G
NH, United States
2012-02-25
Despite an email mistake on my part, my order was filled and mailed very quickly. The emporium responded to my inquires within a day. I have already told several people about the Emporium!
John T
AK, United States
2012-02-25
Jon P
MA, United States
2012-02-24
Harvey D
KS, United States
2012-02-24
I had trouble finding a tie that I wanted or liked until I found the Emporium, I will likely go their again.
Donald A
WA, United States
2012-02-24
I got a leather western gunbelt & holster from Historical Emporium & it was deliverd as thay stated it would . I am verry pleaced with both the service & the belt & holster . I am thinking of ordering another one . I would recammend them to any one. Don Austin ,Port Townsend , Wa.
Houston F
TN, United States
2012-02-24
Quality merchandise shipped quickly
Glenn B
CA, United States
2012-02-24
Daniel H
MO, United States
2012-02-24
Fast delivery and a quality product. Thank you, I will order from you again.
David R
CA, United States
2012-02-24
High quality products, staff that is both knowledgeable and helpful, and very fast service. The Historical Emporium has consistently ranked among the best online merchants that I've dealt with.
Neil W
-, United States
2012-02-24
James C
MN, United States
2012-02-24
Pleasing to deal with on the phone, merchandise was received faster than they estimated and I was really happy with the service.
Brian P
NM, United States
2012-02-24
Western Emporium clothing purchased was all extremely high quality and reasonably priced. Shipment and delivery were prompt. I am very, very pleased.
John M
NY, United States
2012-02-24
The quality just wasn't there. This vest may make part of a decent halloween costume but you could never wear it as part of your regular wardrobe.
Carol S
VA, United States
2012-02-24
Kelyanna A
WI, United States
2012-02-24
Lisa E
MI, United States
2012-02-21
Good quality of products, and a very fast delivery. Yay!
Raymond R
FL, United States
2012-02-21
Far superior to what is out there.
Travis P
WI, United States
2012-02-20
I am very impressed with the quality of the vest's I ordered. I would highly recommend this company.
Todd C
TX, United States
2012-02-20
Most of my friends don't buy historical costumes, but if a friend mentioned that he/she was looking for a victorian item, I would probably recommend y'all.
John W
SA, Australia
2012-02-20
It is a great pleasure to do business with such a responsive company which has high quality products at reasonable prices,,,I have recomended you to friends here in sunny South Australia where our history has many similarities to yours in the good ol' US of A ! Thankyou, John Webster,Adelaide hills,South Australia.

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service