Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2012-11-04


United States
2012-10-29
Beautiful piece that is loved by my Girlfriend. The piece shipped fast and arrived in perfect condition.
Luke Merillat
OH, United States
2012-10-29
Stephen Agnelli
NO, United States
2012-10-29
I was very pleased with the purchase of the mens spats that I made. They were of good quality. Thank You, Stephen Agnelli, Wilmington N.C.

TX, United States
2012-10-29
Awesome product, very well made and very comfortable. I recommend to anyone who is looking for a great looking pair of boots with quality.
Lee Oathout
TN, United States
2012-10-29
Overall, the quality and workmanship of the helmet is excellent. It has a very traditional feel and is thicker than expected in a good-quality sort of way. The canvas is sturdy. It looked exactly as it does in the pictures. I am very impressed with the helmet. Thank you!
Mary
AR, United States
2012-10-29
My order arrived quickly and I was very satisifed with the skirt.
Mark Rude
WA, United States
2012-10-29
They are well made, and worth the price. The only reason I don't give them 5 stars is that I think the elastic strap should be black to make it blend into the shoe better.
Mark Rude
WA, United States
2012-10-29
Well made. I could only wish the pockets were real. Editor's note: The pockets are sewn shut so that the vest maintains its shape during shipment.

United States
2012-10-29
The derby is extremely well-made and appears far more expensive than it is.
Jon
VI, United States
2012-10-29
First let me say that the customer service at the Historical Emporium is excellent. They rank with the best companies I have ever bought from. The Mechanical Globe Watch is absolutely amazing. The internal workings can be seen and the quality appears to be very nice. The attachments and chain are not so good. You must be careful with it. Also there are no directions. We had to ask the Historical Emporium how to set it and wind it. All in all, the watch is unique, fun and a great value.
John W.
CA, United States
2012-10-29
I purchased this shirt as part of a steampunk outfit and it worked perfectly. Style, quality and fit were great - even a neat chromed stud as the collar button - I wore an opened collar style with vest, but it was a nice added flair. Delivery was within days - and, when they realized I was ordering from within the same state, they proactively adjusted my shipping rate down from what I had indicated on their internet site and sent me an email to explain why - great customer service!
John W.
CA, United States
2012-10-29
I purchased this vest as part of a steampunk outfit matched with their Victorian Men's Dress Shirt-High Stand Collar and it worked perfectly. Style, quality and fit were great - great crimson coloring done with very sturdy canvas construction. Delivery was within days - and, when they realized I was ordering from within the same state, they proactively adjusted my shipping rate down from what I had indicated on their internet site and sent me an email to explain why - great customer service!
John W.
CA, United States
2012-10-29
I purchased 2 pairs of these goggles for my wife and I to use at a steampunk party and they worked out great. The goggles are light metal like aluminum, vented and padding makes them comfortable to wear - mostly around my neck, but we did take some group shots at the party with all wearing their goggles - ours I think won out as the best! I did need to lengthen the elastic band so that I got the proper hanging length around my neck, but I am a big guy and I think out of box strap will work for most (worked fine for my wife who didn't want to take them off the night we received them since they were so cool!) - Very satisfied!!
Dunice Williams
CO, United States
2012-10-30
The coat is even better looking in person and well made for the price. As to sizing, I heeded other reviews that it ran small. My measurements are 38-27-38 and the MEDIUM fit very well and is very flattering. It looks good on a curvy girl and I suspect would create them as well. I'd definitely recommend this; perfect for a period costume. The delivery was prompt as well. Overall, a great purchasing experience.
Dunice Williams
CO, United States
2012-10-30
I received many compliments on this skirt; it makes you look super curvy! Being 5'3" it was a bit long but worked with platform boots (though a bit high in the waist - I'm short-waisted, so me not the skirt). I ordered the small and found it a bit tight (not fitted but tight) in the hips - mine are 38). It is very fitted from the waist to the knees so you're movement may be a bit restricted (I dropped something & retrieving it was a bit challenging and comical). Overall, it worked great for my costume and is a terrific skirt, especially for the price. Delivery was prompt and hassle-free. Would definitely recommend this, especially if you're looking for a somewehat understated sexy outfit. Expect to stand out in this; definitely not for the timid. Enjoy!
Jester D
WA, United States
2012-10-30
I received this in the mail recently (and quickly I may add) and am floored by the great item I got! The vest is well made, the fabric is very much above par, and the quality of the vest itself amazing. Thank you!
Katrina Blevins
VI, United States
2012-10-31
I love these boots. They are so comfortable. I can walk in these for hours and feel nothing. the only problem i had is that since i have muscular calves i have to untie and retie them in order to zip them up. it is worth the trouble however ^^
Philip Buckler
United States
2012-10-31
Comfortable, functional, and period-accurate. Everything I was hoping for.
Philip Buckler
United States
2012-10-31
This looks brighter in person, though not so flashy as the Chinese Dragon vest. In retrospect, I would have gone with the small size rather than the medium, which I had to get altered by a tailor (my chest size is right in the middle of the small-medium size range).
Philip Buckler
United States
2012-10-31
Excellent simple period dress shirt. I'm definitely going to be wearing this more often.
J. Bell
KA, United States
2012-10-31
Wild Bill
United States
2012-10-31
Roberta L. Gatto
OR, United States
2012-11-01
This is a clever little item, and it complimented my steampunk attire quite nicely. I like that it comes with the brass lenscap, and it's a handy size for just about any pocket you want to put it in. While the magnification wasn't much, it is still a nice item. Very well-made piece!
Roberta L. Gatto
OR, United States
2012-11-01
Another well-constructed, quality item. It's a smidge taller than I'd anticipated (sort of hard to tell how tall from the pic), but still a very nice item, and especially for the price. It will compliment my tailcoat well.
Roberta L. Gatto
OR, United States
2012-11-01
Another very well-constructed piece. Worked VERY well with the double-breasted working vest and puff tie. It fits well, and the linen texture was very comfortable. I enjoy the period feel and quality of material, and the style makes it a very versatile item. Another hit!
Roberta L. Gatto
OR, United States
2012-11-01
This item is well-made, and offers a nice spash of colour with a subtle, almost irridescent stitched pattern. Easily adjustable, and quite comfortable. Works well with most vests/shirts for that nice dash of style one looks for with a vintage look.
Roberta L. Gatto
OR, United States
2012-11-01
These gauntlets are something I've been looking for for a while. Comfortable, quality leather, with a comfortable fit. My hands are slim, so I can probably wear a very thin liner, should weather require it. I love the quality--they're sturdily-constructed, and are the perfect accent for the discerning steampunk!
Roberta L. Gatto
OR, United States
2012-11-01
I accidentally purchased two sets of these, but I have no regrets. They're well-made/stitched, and I find the Y-style braces more comfortable than the standard suspender. They stay put, and were a great accent to the trousers/vest/tie I'd picked out for the look. These will last a good long time!
Roberta L. Gatto
OR, United States
2012-11-01
I'll confess; I'm always worried about sizing for period pieces, but these trousers are wonderful. Sturdy, well-riveted brace buttons, and stitching. I have to hem them about 6-7in (I'm 5 foot 4 1/2in tall) for length, but the waist was very comfortable and not binding. Nice, deep pockets, with a clever watch pocket above the right-front pocket. They wear extremely well, and look great!
Roberta L. Gatto
OR, United States
2012-11-01
This piece was the hit of my ensemble, and I believe I've probably sold a few for you...The fob is long enough to accomodate a variety of ways to wear it, from use with a vest or as a necklace-type of presentation, to pants pockets, etc. It wowed everybody that saw it, and it keeps time well, to boot! Another high-quality, eye-catching piece!
Roberta L. Gatto
OR, United States
2012-11-01
This item is very useful, and the double-buckle design makes it adjustable to about any way you want to wear it. The snap-on buckles make for convenient access, and the zippered pouches ensure you won't lose your bits, brassy or otherwise. The grommeted design allows the wearer to adapt it for different looks, and the sturdy construction ensures a long-lived item. A must for any intrepid adventurer!
Roberta L. Gatto
OR, United States
2012-11-01
This is one of my favourite items. The double-breasted style compliments period OR more current looks, and it's well-made. This vest will last a good long time. The four-pocket feature gives you plenty of places to put your bits for convenient access, and the adjustable back ensures a great fit. Very comfortable, with good wide arm-holes for ease and full range of motion. Great piece!
Steve
TX, United States
2012-11-01
I purchased this holster for actual use (not for a costume) and it has been great! Quality is top notch, sizing suggestions are right on, pictures are very accurate. The tooling is beautiful and it has held up well under actual use. I recommend this product to anyone looking for a good holster.
Justin Hayward
PA, United States
2012-11-01
Needed this in a Hurry to wear at a Gaming Tournament and Wow did they Respond.Almost Immediate delivery and Honestly, I had so Many compliments that it actually became a distraction ! A Sure Bet !
Bill Bingham
UT, United States
2012-11-01
I am an historical re-enactor and needed a shirt that would qualify, but because I need to wear a tie I wanted one with a collar. This shirt was just what I needed.
Otor Corvus Rexlutrin
CO, United States
2012-11-01
This lab coat is, for lack of more period appropriate verbiage, the sickest thing ever! I am half tempted to get a lab job so I can wear it on a daily basis. It was a huge hit a every Halloween party and it certainly was an attention getter; had my personality not gotten in the way, one day I could have been saying "Yes I did met your mom at a Halloween party, which is also why she calls me Ivan ."
Otor Corvus Rexlutrin
CO, United States
2012-11-01
Despite the fact that, thus far, my evil empire building endeavors have been a bit slow I do now have the requisite goggles and red lenses to wear when I give my coronation oration. I am certin that my minions will take great comfort in knowing that their beloved better is not only looking smart but is comfortable whilst doing so.
Otor Corvus Rexlutrin
CO, United States
2012-11-01
I don't believe that it would be prudent to attempt to rule ones evil empire without these mounted in their goggles; and unquestionably, it would not be as amusing.
Kim
OR, United States
2012-11-01
Very high quality shirt.
Kim
OR, United States
2012-11-01
This ascot was really great! Very high quality.

TE, United States
2012-11-02
I ordered the Ladies Reversible Spats (Black Damask/Velvet) to go with my Halloween costume. These spats are beautiful and wonderfully constructed. They fit over a pair of pointy toed ankle boots perfectly and completed the look of my costume. Very pleased with the quality and they shipped super fast! Thank you!

United States
2012-11-02
The New Banker vest is perfect for an authentic costume, and nicely made with quality wool.
Jesse Bearheart
MN, United States
2012-11-03
I originally got these for my Guy Fawks Halloween costume and they made an impression. I find them so comfy that I fully expect they'll get far more than a one day a year usage. Fine style and great fit and craftspersonship makes my day. Worth every penny! Evie
Keith Ramsey
VA, United States
2012-11-03
It looks great as a costume. With the other items created , it worked perfectly and there will be more purchases!!!

CA, United States
2012-11-03
I purchased the hat as part of my outfit for our SASS Club. I have only worn it once, however it has held up remarkable as the wind blew constantly and the feathers are just fine. I love the hat and have received a lot of complements.
Dawn Carol Ihnken
MN, United States
2012-11-03
Just LOVE it! Have many compliments. Now my 24 year old son would like a new frock coat also.
Archduke Bishop Dr. Robert Maxwell
ID, United States
2012-11-03
This set of clothes is merit the money and it is unsurpassed! This suit fits like a glove, it looks amiable, and it shall look good on any one whom procures it!
Archduke Rev. Dr. R. Maxwell
ID, United States
2012-11-03
This Tie is a Beautiful Fashionable Tie- it is a real incomparable tie, and worth the coins- For those who are shopping on a balance sheet! The Ladies Shall Screen at you, as you walk down- the Street of down town- especially if you have the whole Attire -Garr!
Archduke The Right Reverend Dr. R. Maxwell
ID, United States
2012-11-03
This shirt is elegant and beautiful- and you shall love it and it is value the outlay!
Archduke Bishop Dr. R. Maxwell
ID, United States
2012-11-03
these studs Are nice and fit the shirt and good price!
Archduke Bishop Dr. R.Maxwell
ID, United States
2012-11-03
This necklace is a real nice choker and a good price!
Kalekona K
HI, United States
2012-11-04
Good selection of offerings, prices were reasonable, and items were shipped and arrived faster than anticipated.
David L
CA, United States
2012-11-02
I've never gotten a garment shipped in a flat box before, but it sure keeps it from getting wrinkled during transport. Great website, rapid service, quality products - what's not to like?
Roberta G
OR, United States
2012-11-01
This was my first time accessing your site, and I have to say, I am highly impressed with the overall quality and workmanship of your merchandise! I'm VERY picky about period costume, and your items are by far the BEST available I've found, and especially for your pricing. This is the first time I've perchased clothing online--I have a hard time fitting items without trying them on, physically, first--and I was delighted that your sizing was accurate to the point that the ONLY item I had to alter in any way were the canvas field trousers. And that was just because I'm short and the pants aren't. lol. But overall, the fits were so close, it was as though I'd walked into your store and tried them on. The second order I made had me worried; it had to be split into two shipments, and I was worried that they wouldn't arrive in time for the party I'd wanted to wear them to, but they arrived the very next day, and all ended well. Your pricing is EXTREMELY reasonable, and I was happy to be able to compose a complete outfit for far less than anticipated. I love the accents/accessories you offer, and they perfectly complimented the overall look I was going for. I was a hit everywhere I went, and was most happy to recommend your site to all who enquired. Service was prompt and courteous, and delivery was quick and accurate. I truely appreciate the sense of customer service your organization offers; too often, once I make a purchase online, I get delays, overcharges, and general neglect once the purchase is made. NOT with your site, though, and it's nice to find a company that KNOWS what service means and lives up to it. The process was very easy, and I'm extremely satisfied with the quality and care evident in your goods. Excellent job!
Peter N
WA, United States
2012-11-01
Brian R
MD, United States
2012-10-31
Howard C
VA, United States
2012-10-30
I was very pleased with the entire shipment and the timely delivery. I expect I will come back for some additional items in the future. Thank you very much for the outstanding service. Howard Cromwell.
Joan M
IA, United States
2012-10-30
Major quality issues and customer service problems
Noelani M
VA, United States
2012-10-30
I ran into a little trouble with an out-of-stock item, but with some surprisingly speedy correspondence, we found a solution, and I'm very happy with my purchase.
Nathan W
CA, United States
2012-10-29
Super fast shipping and exactly as advertised.
Rodney B
NS, Australia
2012-10-29

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service