Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2013-10-06

Cory
AR, United States
2013-09-30
I've played around on this site for years but never had an event to buy for until recently. Everything fit perfectly, looked beautiful, and arrived faster than expected. I ordered from a few different sites to complete an outfit, but I'd say this is the site I'll be ordering from again. I'd recommend the Emporium to anyone that ask.
Paul Bailey
JI, United States
2013-09-30
I bought both the red and black cravats. I like them both and wear them more than I anticipated. Not only do they work well as described on the website--although it is a little short if you wear a low-cut waistcoat--but they also work as a summer scarf to protect the back of your neck and as a lighter four-in-hand tie. The only draw back may be that the red one is very red. My wife says it makes me look like a Young Pioneer.
Bmike
FL, United States
2013-09-30
Nicely crafted. Sized correctly. Should make a fine addition to the steampunk/Victorian Adventurer costume I have in mind. Highly recommended.
Barry Smith
BC, Canada
2013-09-30
Excellent quality , very happy with purchase.
Barry Smith
BC, Canada
2013-09-30
Very happy with purchase , but 43$ item and around 60$ shipping and handeling and duty and tax. Perhaps you could open a distribution centre in Canada !
Kat
CA, United States
2013-09-30
The customer service at Historical Emporium came through for us. We had a last minute problem with another company and ordered from Historical Emporium and they cam through getting the outfit for the mother of the bride sent out quickly and complete! I would highly recommend this company for their good service and excellent quality of products.
Samantha Anderson
ID, United States
2013-09-30
Perfect for my "Tea Party". The outfit is VERY well made and will last for another 100 years! Very pleased
Samantha Anderson
ID, United States
2013-09-30
I was on the phone with a gentleman for about 20 minutes just asking questions. He handled every question with ease and made me feel comfortable. Delivery was fast and my package was securely wrapped. I am very pleased with the service I received.
Jim
MN, United States
2013-09-30
Very nice, shipped in just a few days as stated. Very satisfied!!
Jim
United States
2013-09-30
A-1 service!!!
Allie
WI, United States
2013-10-01
Purchased this skirt for a ballroom dance performance. Danced in it once with nothing particularly strenuous, had no issues. Went to adjust it on my hips right before a show and the zipper broke. Had to be sewn into it for the show on only the second wear. Pretty disappointed
John Woodard
MS, United States
2013-10-01
I was very pleased with this product,and it fit well and my gun went in the holster with no problem. There was only one slite flaw in the gun belt,there was only 23 bullet loops instead of 24 no biggie. Over all the product was great and I could not find a better price anywhere. I have made other orders with you since this order and will make more. Keep up the good work. Thank You. John Woodard ( Cut and Shoot Kid, SASS#98892
lizzie nevada
NV, United States
2013-10-01
The blouse is perfect for the costume I'm using for a photo shoot - well-made and good quality.
Lizzie Nevada
NV, United States
2013-10-01
The purchase item was well-made and high quality, and the service was very prompt. I have purchased before from this company and certainly will again.
Damon
CA, United States
2013-10-01
All I can say is Historical Emporium is the kind of place that you wish to do business with every time you purchase from the web. They worked extremely fast and packaged up a Beautiful product. It arrived very quickly. I am Very Happy and I'll surely buy from them again. Thanx Guys, damon
B.Allen
Canada
2013-10-01
I just want to say what a pleasure it has been doing business with your company. The Homburg hat is just perfect. Everyone loves my new hat. I live in Canada, and the hat was here in 1 week. It was shipped by ordinary mail service . Hard to believe so speedy..
B.Allen
Canada
2013-10-01
It is hard to believe how professional your company and your employees are. I communicated both by internet and by phone with your company, and I must say I have had the best experience EVER. I will recommend you to anyone looking to purchase a hat.

United States
2013-10-01
In the images on the site, the quality looks fairly good, but upon receipt I was disappointed with the overall quality for a jacket well over $200. The stitch was not very heavy duty, the work on the buttons was poor and frayed thread, the jacket is made in China (huge turnoff and not clearly stated on the site), buttons on the back were loose. Overall a large disappointment for an expensive jacket. I would expect superior lining and much higher quality for this amount.
Edna Way
SC, United States
2013-10-02
great buy

United States
2013-10-02
These were just what I hoped for. The fit was perfect.

United States
2013-10-02
The order arrived quickly and was just what was needed. Keep up the good work.
Jeffrey
NC, United States
2013-10-03
Unbelievable style and quality. Includes excellent feather embellishment not pictured. I shall only remove this hat for sleeping. By far my favorite purchase of 2013. Seems under-priced for such high level of quality.
Jeffrey
NC, United States
2013-10-03
Huge hit with everyone who sees it. Sprained My ankle and this worked perfectly as a walking stick for My 250lb frame.
Jeffrey
NC, United States
2013-10-03
High quality blaster. Will blast cannon-ball sized holes through your enemies at close range.
Jeffrey
NC, United States
2013-10-03
Perfect ray gun for your female companion. Even the most delicate hands become the most deadly of weapons when grasping this ridiculously stylish photon disruptor.
Jean
DE, United States
2013-10-04
Love it. Love it Love it . You can not go wrong. Its perfect and no odor. The service was great and I got the helmet right away. What a great company.

United States
2013-10-04
skirt is made very well. But I would order a larger size than you need. sizing is really not true to size

TX, United States
2013-10-04
I bought this as a gift for a friend. Every time he has worn it out, he receives more compliments than either of us imagined possible. This is a timeless look that is definitely making a comeback.

United States
2013-10-04
also,made very well, but sizing is not right. I would order one size larger

TX, United States
2013-10-04
This is my second vest from this site. And, like the last one, the product in person blows away the photos. And the photos make them look great. Between this one and my previous vest, I am going to start a collection. Compliments are a great source of feedback with a new accessory. And I get them (literally) every where I go wearing this.

TX, United States
2013-10-04
Two purchases made so far from this site. And two out of two continue to bring smiles to my face. This has now become my new favorite site to browse for new products.
Steamboat Willy
NY, United States
2013-10-04
It says "One size fits most" I would add most basketball players. That said they are well made and very stylish.
Buzz
AL, Canada
2013-10-04
I do like these shades but they seem to make it a little difficult to see when look towards the bright sun.
Buzz
AL, Canada
2013-10-04
I love these, although I did order the black frames which were not in stock. To be fair I was called and asked if the substitution was okay.
Buzz
AL, Canada
2013-10-04
Pauline
MO, United States
2013-10-04
Exceeded my expectations! Really helps one get into their role.
Julie
MN, United States
2013-10-04
I was very disappointed when I received the blouse I ordered. I was expecting a piece of clothing with "integrity" -- the fabric to have some substance. This blouse must be worn as an undergarment, as it is quite thin and flimsy. Made in China. For the substantial price and the fact that this is a specialty store, I expected much better quality. Poor buyer decisions from Historical Emporium.
Jaime
LA, United States
2013-10-04
Loved the hat. My only complaint was it was pretty much a one size fits all and was too big for my head so I had to get creative with making it fit the way I wanted it to. But great quality and got tons of compliments on it.
Atlrobyn
GA, United States
2013-10-04
As many of the reviews said about the cards - the box & stand came apart before I could unwrap them. Other than that - the quality of the cards is beautiful and they'll fit in our production very well.
john himbury
BC, Canada
2013-10-04
Very fast in shipping.thnk u love the boots.peace and prosperity.will buy other stuff in future.
Jaime
LA, United States
2013-10-04
again I loved this skirt.. I bought the whole outfit as shown on the website and was very pleased with all of it. I normally wear a small though and went with a Medium in the skirt. it does run small and is very fitted, so be prepared.But every piece I bought was great quality material and I was very pleased with it.
Jaime
LA, United States
2013-10-04
Was very pleased overall with my purchase. Every item was of great quality material. and it shipped to me very quickly. I had questions about the outfit before I ordered and customer service was very friendly and really helped me select the appropriate sizes. They were very knowledgable about their prodcuts. I would definitley buy from this site again.
Da Sarge
TE, United States
2013-10-04
Great costuming piece- worry-free sturdy construction, fit and appearance are superb! Sizes run a tad snug by modern standards, but are period-correct. Highly satisfied!
robert
FO, United States
2013-10-04
Ordered one for me and one for my son. They are perfect.
lynlynne
CA, United States
2013-10-04
Less than one business week, a beautiful frock coat was being modeled by my husband. He was pleased with the arrival speed, I was pleased with the cost, WE are pleased with this purchase. Thank you. 1856, here we come!
Rev.Mr.Black
NE, United States
2013-10-04
I couldn't be happier with my purchase ... My trousers were delivered quickly , and are a high quality ... Great material , stiching and fit .... Almost more important ,,,,, my wife thinks I look "GREAT" , the high waist cut and color are very flattering to my mature frame .... Can't wait to order my next pare ... Some new braces and shirts also on the agenda ... Living in the southwest helps lend it self to the turn of the century , western look , though I'm sure the timeless quality of the look could only be well recieved most any where .... As a semi-retired reenactor / I'll be back soon ....
lynlynne
CA, United States
2013-10-04
That was a quote from the recipient of this jacket.The tropical weight of the wool is a blessing for people who do reenactments. The style, very nice, period appropriate. The workmanship looks to be of quality. Time will tell. We will need to have the shoulders professionally tailored, as my husband is more round in the middle than broad in the shoulders. (Thank you fou the sizing info!) Overall, we are pleased with this jacket and look forward to many celebrations looking the roles we will be assuming.
Tennessee Jed
TE, United States
2013-10-04
Excellent hat. Great looking, great fit at a really good price.
Nathaniel R.
VA, United States
2013-10-04
Loved the tweed material and overall quality. I'm very tall, however, 6'4", and the vest is a little short.
tim
CA, United States
2013-10-04
I received an email at the last moment asking for a blue paisley ascot to be part of the characters costume. I sourced the internet and found this great company. I called at 2:30 pm and asked about a specific item, ordered over the phone, and this customer service representative ran the item back to shipping and had it arrive to me in LA, overnight. Wow, this guy was amazing! This is what I love, a company that goes the extra mile as they say, to make a customers needs important.......I will definitely do business with them again.
Tennessee Jed
TE, United States
2013-10-04
The hat was ordered on line & I got it 2 days later. The web site was easy to follow. This company has got it going on!
Nathaniel R.
VA, United States
2013-10-04
Exactly what I've been looking for. Very attractive, quality vest. Couldn't be more satisfied.
Jared
LO, United States
2013-10-04
The vest is made very well, and the buttons are riveted. The material is durable canvas type material. The only gripe I have is that I measured, per the instructions, and it was a little larger than I expected, although it does still fit very well. After talking with my wife about the fit, she said it looked good on me, as did others, and it will allow for a thicker shirt, like a quilted shirt in the winter. so, overall, I'm very pleased, and I would definitely buy from the *Emporium again. Especially Scully products. I wear it nearly every day.
straw bone
WA, United States
2013-10-04
Great looking, great fit, service couldn't have been better.
straw bone
WA, United States
2013-10-04
Great looking, great fit, service couldn't have been better.
straw bone
WA, United States
2013-10-04
The fit and feel are perfect. Very nice shirt.
Jack
CA, United States
2013-10-04
Although I have purchased various items from you over the telephone, I decided to visit your office in San Jose earlier in the week to try get the right size on the coat and hat that I was planning to buy. Matt and Eve helped me. They were just terrific. I would give them both "six stars" if I could. Thanks for the wonderful service.
Valerie
PA, United States
2013-10-04
I LOVE this blouse!! It is just what I was looking for and it fits perfect.
Mary Spani
BR, Canada
2013-10-04
The Brewster frock coat is exactly as described & looks great. Fits well too. Perfect for our theatrical production; although it looks substantial, (from an audience it looks as if it made of heavier wool) it is lighter & therefore easier on the actor. Made of synthetic fibre, it will also last much longer use - will not soil as easily by make up. ALthough it is labelled "Dry Clean", my experience with polyester gabardine has shown me that it should be washable - on "gentle" of course. Thank you for a great product.
Sicillia
NY, United States
2013-10-04
What a beautiful vest this is. My husband loved it. It fits tighter than he usually wears vests, but it looks great on him.
jesse gonzales
WA, United States
2013-10-04
service is first rate. I boo booed and soleceted the wrong size. sent back and waiting.
XLSad
BC, Canada
2013-10-04
I orded this jacket with the other reviews I read in mind. Everyone said that they found it fit smaller then what the sizing chart said, so best to order a size bigger then you would. When I received the item I was extremely surprised to find that it fit into a small USPS box that weighed no more then a feather. Actually when we received it we thought it was my boyfriends feathered wings for his costume. Much to my surprise it was actually the jacket. It is quite a beautiful jacket, very thin, so not what I was expecting. I put it on and could not believe how small it fit. I went off the sizing chart provided then went up a size and it was still too small. I'm not a skinny minnie by any means but I'm not on the flip side either...I'm average. When I held it up for my boyfriend to check out he asked me if they sent me a Small by mistake. I really do think that your sizing needs to be looked at especially since every review has made the same comment. I ordered an XL and it was by no means and XL. Unfortunately due to time constraints and my ego I have to return the item for a full refund. Hopefully down the road I'll be able to retry this with better results.
lsrmgr
NM, United States
2013-10-04
Great high quality suspenders. I wear them every day.
Lauren
CA, United States
2013-10-04
I have a picture of my great grandmother playing baseball in a park in the early 1900s, and she's wearing a blouse that looks exactly like this. I love the quality and attention to detail.
Will
CA, United States
2013-10-04
Classy vest, great design!
Will
CA, United States
2013-10-04
Others will be green with envy when they see you with this emerald green vest! Expect lots of positive comments where ever you go with this beautiful classic vest. Don't forget your bow tie!
William Holt
UT, United States
2013-10-04
I have purchased several vests through The Gentleman's Emporium (11 in all) and I continue to be impressed by the quality of the products. This Madrona Vest is my most recent addition and it doesn't disappoint. It provides a sharp, distiguished look that has already garnered complements in my work environment. While "Mossy Brown" is an accurate description of the color, the photograph on the website is NOT. The photo gives it much more of a tan appearance, when the actual fabric has a slight olive tint to it that gives it that "mossy" name. It's still an excellent vest regardless, but purchasers should be aware of this subtle difference.
Bobby
MD, United States
2013-10-04
We are going to a charity ball and the theme is steam punk. My husband ordered from another company and the outfit was the wrong size and then had them correct the order and again the wrong size. With you it was very easy, the website is perfectly done, easy to navigate. My order arrived on the date that was posted and the quality of the product way surpassed my expectations. In the future i will order from you again.
cactus
TE, United States
2013-10-04
Beautiful material and craftsmanship!
cactus
TE, United States
2013-10-04
5 stars all the way! Quick and all expectations met! Pleasure to shop with you!

United States
2013-10-04
Well pants have not fallen down as yet. Cheers Joseph

United States
2013-10-04
G' Day, Just great work and play pants, love them yes I do. Cheers Josepg

United States
2013-10-04
Always very nice to deal with. cheers Joseph
Frank
AZ, United States
2013-10-04
Orders shipped immediately, arrived within days. Good return policy (ordered wrong size) fast bank credit.
James McCarthy
OH, United States
2013-10-04
I am quite satisfied with my new vest. It was larger than I'd been led to believe. Still I'm glad I got a size larger. workmanship is high quality. Now it's off to Texas to show it off.
cindy jo
NC, United States
2013-10-04
Love it. It was a little big and had to have it altered. The quality is excellent.
cindy jo
NC, United States
2013-10-04
It is lovely. Looks and wears great.
cindy jo
NC, United States
2013-10-04
This skirt feels fabulous when wearing it. My husband commented that I looked like a million bucks, when I had on the entire outfit. blouse, skirt and hat.
cindy jo
NC, United States
2013-10-04
The blouse is very good quality. The fit was a little large. It was perfect for what i needed, a 1913 outfit.
thawoof
FL, United States
2013-10-04
This is a lot of fun. I have always enjoyed imagining dressing in period clothing pirates, middle eastern and of course the old west look. I never thought that owning such a garment would be much more than having a 'light weight over priced Halloween garment". This is truly a fine piece of clothing and I think that I am going to have the courage to pick my place carefully and wear it under a formal suit. Wish me luck.
thawoof
FL, United States
2013-10-04
Stumbled upon the site and fell in love with it before I opened the first page. It is kinda like I found a place where I could get all of that charming stuff that I use to see in the movies. Unbelievably breath taking authentic for my taste. i must move slowly else I will wind up making a major dressing change to rapidly. I expect to have a lot of fun shopping here. I'm sure that I will be asked , where did you get it and they shall be told. Happy to share this fun store.
Russell
United States
2013-10-04
Love it good quality, better than expected.
russell
United States
2013-10-04
Perfect i have big hands and the size was perfect, high quality, better than expected.
russell
United States
2013-10-04
Good quality, great price. fit good, look good.
russell
United States
2013-10-04
everything ordered was great to good quality and was exactly what i wanted. Price and shipping were good.
Janice Stokes
FL, United States
2013-10-04
My husband loves this holster & belt. Gorgeous workmanship and great price!
Janice Stokes
FL, United States
2013-10-04
We needed clarification on size of handgun the holster/belt combo would hold, and the lady we spoke to was polite and knowledgeable.
Carol W.
CA, United States
2013-10-04
The customer cervice from Historical Emporium has been absolutely the BEST!! I could not ask for anything better than the service I've received! Many, many thanks to all of you.
The mustache man
TE, United States
2013-10-04
Highest quality stuff available anywhere in the world ..... That's why I keep buying from these guys !!!
The mustache man
TE, United States
2013-10-04
such quick delivery......... I had to look at my mail man to see if he was wearing a NASA jet pack !!!
Jim
NE, United States
2013-10-04
I had hoped the material would have been a little less stiff and the stick pin was hideous.
Jim
NE, United States
2013-10-04
Mostly satisfied. I would be a happier if it were just a little longer.
Steamboat Willy
NY, United States
2013-10-04
Runs large so for most people I would say purchase a size smaller than usual. I purchased size small and it still fit over a jacket and I am a size 40.
Steamboat Willy
NY, United States
2013-10-04
Heavy like a pair of jeans and true to size.
Steamboat Willy
NY, United States
2013-10-04
Shape and fit were good. 100% polyester but good for the price.
Doug
CA, United States
2013-10-04
These shoes were immediately comfortable. No breaking in to speak of. The first day I wore them I took a midday walk of about three miles and they were just fine. All subsequent days have been the same. I have also received many compliments on the look of the shoe. Glad I got them.
Kelsey gaden kg
OK, United States
2013-10-04
They are absolutey wonderful, I changed dress size with nothing but efficiency! I would buy from them anytime. And will soho here again! I'm telling all my friends! Gorgeous dress for Halloween I had been looking for a long time before I found it and it is absolutely perfect loved my over all experience

United States
2013-10-05
This was my first time ordering from here! The quality of the product is awesome I know I'll be ordering from here again!

TX, United States
2013-10-05
I called in the order for my fiance! The gentleman who helped was informed and was friendly! He took my order in a timely fashion and they shipped it promptly! Very helpful will be doing business with them again soon!
PS III
TE, United States
2013-10-05
Pictures don't do this vest justice. I'm extremely pleased with it. Whether I'm wearing it to a western themed event like I did last night or just sitting in my living room chair reading the vest is an authentic and comfortable addition to my jeans and boots. The vest is well made and the leather is an excellent grade. I highly recommend this vest to anyone who enjoys true western fashion.

MA, United States
2013-10-05
Very happy with the product. Has a clover-leaf like vent on top which isn't visible in photo which is nice. Would have preferred a red one instead of burgundy. Fit is a little loose, so I think it would fit most people unless you have a huge cranium...looks like it would adjust by rolling the edge inside for smaller fit. Product arrived much sooner than expected!

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service