Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2013-11-10

Brownie
IN, United States
2013-11-04
I love this vest! Perfect fit, well made and just plain beautiful. I got compliment after compliment after wearing this vest for the first time. Say yes to this vest.
Brownie
IN, United States
2013-11-04
This vest is quite distiguished-looking, warm, nice looking and well made. Unfortunately, it was a good deal larger (by 2 inches at least) than the sizing chart showed. Will have to get it altered to fit properly. Go a size smaller than listed.
Coffee Break
United States
2013-11-04
I was looking for a leather helmet to wear when driving my English sportscar. Wind noise gets bad over 40MPH. This item helps but it has a few problems. The chin strap could be more forward, it is uncomfortable on the throat. Also, one of the ear flaps is coming unstiched.

United States
2013-11-04

United States
2013-11-04

United States
2013-11-04
Sandra Zimmer
WA, United States
2013-11-04
I love this all cotton blouse, it fits perfect and worked quite well with my steampunk Victorian outfits, will be buying another color soon!
Brian Zimmer
WA, United States
2013-11-04
These are very comfortable and nice fitting pants. There was plenty of hem for a 6ft 2in guy so had to take up several inches but not too difficult to accomplish. Fabric was sturdy and they had a great feel to them. Used for a steampunk outfit but could easily use for other period pieces.
Sandra Zimmer
WA, United States
2013-11-04
Used for a steampunk outfit and worked well. Could have bought a size smaller but went with the sizing chart for my size. It was nice to having a pair of pants that had the appearance of a skirt for a change.
Allen
VA, United States
2013-11-04
Shirt is very nice and exactly what I expected.
Allen
VA, United States
2013-11-04
This would be ok to use as a prop but is not functional. Very blury and you can't see out of it. Also it smelled bad when it arrived, probably a die that was used on the leather, needs time to air out.
Kim
VA, United States
2013-11-04
Very nice in both design and quality. Just what I was looking for.
Nypto
TE, United States
2013-11-04
I was Skeptical when I ordered this holster and belt, but I was very surprised at the quality of the workmanship. This is a gem. Fits perfectly. Thanks guys.
Nypto
TE, United States
2013-11-04
I couldn't have asked for better ..OR..faster service. Thanks
KT421
MD, United States
2013-11-04
I absolutely love this coat. It goes great with either pants or a skirt, although it obscures any bustles. I wore this to a steampunk convention and got complements on it all weekend. It does run small. Refer to the sizing chart, then order up a size.
KT421
MD, United States
2013-11-04
Items I wanted were out of stock, but the customer service staff was able to tell me what items were scheduled to be stocked and when, and place them on backorder for me. Items arrived in time for my con. Thanks!
Jane Eyre
Canada
2013-11-04
I turned many heads when I wore this beautiful hat. The craftmanship is stunning and of high quality. I am quite pleased with my purchase, and I highly recommend this product.
Laurie
MI, United States
2013-11-04
Ordered the vest kind of last-minute for my Husband to wear for our wedding. It arrived sooner than expected and fits pretty well. It could be taken in a bit at the shoulders, but otherwise great! Happy to find it in his size!
Rob
United States
2013-11-04
Perfect pants for a regency outfit. They come very baggy, so they definitely need to be altered. My tailor took in the waist, legs, and hemmed them for $15.
Rob
United States
2013-11-04
It fits really well, maybe only the arms a tad long. Perfect for a Mr. Darcy outfit, even if it's not 100% period.
Rob
United States
2013-11-04
Real sharp vest, no complaints.
Rob
United States
2013-11-04
I'm a size 9 and ordered a small (sizes 8-9), they were still big on me. I had to wear two pairs of thick socks. I wore them for two nights, walked all over NYC, and they were very comfortable. They definitely have a costume look to them, but the only other option was to spend $250 which didn't really make sense if I'm only going to wear them a couple nights a year. They work well for a Mr. Darcy look.
Dawn
ON, Canada
2013-11-04
A dashing, high-quality helmet!
Phil
Canada
2013-11-04
I am most pleased with my Homburg. Ordering was easy, shipping was swift, and customer service is very kind, and helpful. Thank you so much!
Kevin C
KE, United States
2013-11-05
The vest arrived as promised and was exactly as expected. I had read an earlier review for this vest before purchasing so I did expect the color to be a little darker than the photo. Sizing was accurate and it worked for my occasion.
Kevin C
KE, United States
2013-11-05
My purchase arrived on time and as promised. I will shop here again
Pirate Too Late
FL, United States
2013-11-05
I was absolutely thrilled to stumble onto your site. The selection is amazing. The quality of material in the shirt is great, the cut however could use a bit of help. The Large is really big in the body, small in the neck and the arms could be just a bit longer. That said - I hate to take it off. Right out of the box it is soft and comfortable. A light steaming and you are good to go. Shipping was reasonably priced and arrived sooner than expected. I look forward to ordering from you again.
'J' Man
OR, United States
2013-11-05
What these needed was the perfect head gear, so I purchased the British Pith Helmet…perfect combination. As always shipping was fast, another great trade.
'J' Man
OR, United States
2013-11-05
Bought these to mount to the Brass goggles…took the black paint off, outfitted with leather…so sweet.
'J' Man
OR, United States
2013-11-05
In an age were customer service is a thing of the past, you folks continue to reject this paradigm; and thank you for that. Oh sure I look around the web for deals, but whenever possible I purchase from Historical Emporium, period. Nice to know some of the old ideas are still alive.
james
NS, Australia
2013-11-05
good product and delivery very good and on time
Ron
VA, United States
2013-11-05
Perfect fit. Great quality. Very pleased.
Tisti
CA, United States
2013-11-06
This is the perfect black skirt. I wore it for Halloween butted up with a corset. Also can pair with blazer and wear to work. Great price too.
Octavius von Gilgamesh
SO, Australia
2013-11-06
As always the product was as stated, the fit was excellent, and the delivery was fast and efficient, even though it had to come from half way across the world. There are not enough superlatives to describe how happy I am with another fantastic order.
Octavius von Gilgamesh
SO, Australia
2013-11-06
No matter what you are doing, be it exploring the depths of a new tomb, or attending a dinner for the Royal Archeological Society, this coat will keep you dpper and cool, no matter the stress of the situation.
Octavius von Gilgamesh
SO, Australia
2013-11-06
Whether you are traipsing through a dense jungle looking for a lost temple, or staring out at at an unending vista atop a sand dune after your aircraft crashes, these trousers will keep your lower extremities safe and sound

VA, United States
2013-11-06
If you want to make sure your goggles have clear lens then you need these to swap out with. Easy to install.
Tony
VA, United States
2013-11-06
I searched around for goggles and while some were cheaper and not as decorative, I had the preference for the leather bridge and padded leather eyecups on this one. I made sure I got the clear replacement (plastic) lenses for the evening parties (don't forget this!). Perfect for my minion costume and future steampunk wear. I took one star off because the plastic clip that holds the adjustable elastic headstrap will easily slip off from all the constant tugging during wear. I wish there was a more secure way to keep this on. Losing that clip would be a party pooper.
Tony
VA, United States
2013-11-06
It was just goggles and I had planned for the expected delivery time. Much to my surprise it arrived in half the time, ready for the first party of the Halloween weekend and beyond! They definitely delivered as promised.
Ray
WV, United States
2013-11-07
I received my Fulton, rust colored vest and am quite happy with it. It was a special order, so it took longer than the order I placed previously, but it fits into my vest collection nicely. I like the four pocket feature. It provides a spot for a pocket watch, a cell phone and keys and a pocket for change. I'm definitely sold on the four pockets. I purchased a Classic Canvas Work Vest previously, but this color was not available in that style selection. I wear both vests on a regular basis, usually alternating every day or two. I am very pleased with the service, from the person taking care of the order to the shipment. I will be back in the future. Thanks again for the old fashioned, professional toch in the service deptartment.
"River Song"
United States
2013-11-08
I was truly impressed with not only the quality of what I ordered, but the swiftness with which it was delivered. I appreciated the professionalism and will remember this company! Thank you very much!
Ray
WV, United States
2013-11-08
Quite satisfied with service provided. Reminded me of the personal, friendly service of a home-town clothing store. I chose to purchase because of a second to none on-line website that showed a wide range of products and price ranges. Service more than met my expectations. Very professional from point of sale thru delivery. I will not hesitate to return in the future for further purchases and would recommend your company to others for satifaction in on-line shopping!
Wendy
CA, United States
2013-11-08
However, it IS cut smaller throughout the bust. I am not greatly endowed, but fortunately, I chose to wear this blouse over a corset, which made it work. Although the bust is cut smaller, the rest of the blouse isn't, so if I had ordered a Medium (I ordered a Small) it would have been too big. As basic white blouses go, this one will be my go-to blouse for cooler weather and layering.
Thomas Hatzis
IL, United States
2013-11-08
Great! Exactly what I was looking for to wear for the Holidays. The quality of the garment is exceptional.
Wendy
CA, United States
2013-11-08
I recently wore this vest to a victorian Tea and Dance. I received compliment after compliment. I ordered a Small, and it worked beautifully. The only suggestion I would make is for that wasp-waist silhouette, a couple of vertical darts near the bottom would give it that authentic historical look. I may add them myself later. Overall, this was a good purchase for my costuming needs.
Wendy
CA, United States
2013-11-08
I LOVE that I can order from this site and get my products within about three days. All of my husband's victorian/Regency costume pieces have been ordered from this site, and I have been recommending it to friends. I also appreciate the sizable selection. Good job!
Sharkman
IN, United States
2013-11-08
Thanks is make a great unique piece on my desk!
Shane
ON, Canada
2013-11-08
Great watch love that it's wind up and never needs a battery. Look amazing , works amazing, couldn't be happier.
Shane
ON, Canada
2013-11-08
Everything came fast with no problems. It was all packed well and secure.

WI, United States
2013-11-08
Can't beat the price and quality combination. Extremely fast shipping was a bonus I wasn't expecting. Very satisfied with this product.

WI, United States
2013-11-08
Nothing but high praise for this company. Good communication, fast shipping and high quality products.
Maurice
DC, United States
2013-11-08
Looks just as good in person as it did online. Fits well too.
Maurice
DC, United States
2013-11-08
The metal buttons add a nice touch. I'm very happy with this vest.
Kristie
GA, United States
2013-11-08
The holster is beautiful. Very pleased with the quality and craftsmanship. Awesome product my boyfriend loves it!!!

United States
2013-11-08
The jacket itself is beautiful, but it's too big. I have a 34 inch bust, so I ordered a medium, and I simply don't have the cup size to fill it out. It's not terribly flattering on me, and it's a shame. I'd hate to pay shipping to exchange it for a small only to find out that it doesn't fit right, either. I guess that's the gamble you take when buying clothes online.
Mary
WA, United States
2013-11-08
This jacket was absolutely perfect in every way for me. It fit to a tee and it look great. The quality was superior and well made. Love it!
ARC
OR, United States
2013-11-08
These goggles look great. The fit is adjustable with a leather belt strap, so may be too tight or too lose. The part of the lenses that contact the face are a bit uncomfortable, but all in all, a great product!

United States
2013-11-08
What a cute necklace! I would recommend to any cephalopod fan!

United States
2013-11-08
You get what you pay for. It was an inexpensive key chain, so some of the links were loose and needed tightening, and one of the hands was stuck and I could not get it to budge. However, it serves its function well, which is to look pretty hanging from my belt. I do not regret the purchase.

United States
2013-11-08
It's a little big for my 6 inch wrist, but that's no different than any other standard size bracelet. It's adorable and I love it! I would recommend to any cephalopod fan!

United States
2013-11-08
This skirt is truly "pencil thin to the knees," so I found it a bit difficult to walk up stairs while wearing it, but that's the price we pay for fashion! Right, ladies? This skirt is sassy and gorgeous, and true to size. I love it!

United States
2013-11-08
It's cute, but I found the links in the chain needed some tightening. An easy fix.

United States
2013-11-08
I was exactly in between small and medium, so I ordered the medium. I find it to be a bit too loose for my tastes, but it's passable. The dress itself is very pretty.
ARC
OR, United States
2013-11-08
I some questions about the fit of an item, and the customer representative went into the warehouse and physically checked the idem. They could have just told me what was on their computer, but decided to go the extra mile (hopefully not literally :).

United States
2013-11-08
I found it to be true to size, although it is a bit short. My tucked in blouse tends to peek out underneath the bodice a bit. I do love the fabric, though! I'm quite pleased with the purchase overall.

United States
2013-11-08
Cute little key chain of average quality. Links needed tightening, but that's an easy fix. I'm still pleased with the purchase.

United States
2013-11-08
Links needed tightening and some of the moving parts are difficult to move. It does serve its purpose well, though, which is to look awesome hanging from my belt. I do not regret the purchase.
lil
CA, United States
2013-11-08
great look fun boots comfortable shoes!
Ken
WA, United States
2013-11-08
I like everything about this vest. It looks good, fits good, and the quality of construction is good. I'd certainly purchase again.

United States
2013-11-08
The pictures do not do this blouse justice! What a gorgeous, feminine garment! Highly recommend!
jacquie Dancsecs
CA, United States
2013-11-08
Outstanding quality! Love your product!

United States
2013-11-08
I've always had great experiences shopping with steampunk/Historical Emporium. My only gripe is that the items I like always seem to be out of stock! I get that this is a niche market, so they don't want to have too much inventory, but it is a frustration nonetheless. However, the people I've dealt with at the Emporium have always been courteous and professional. I will continue to be a repeat customer of steampunk Emporium...as long as there's inventory for me to buy!
jacquie Dancsecs
CA, United States
2013-11-08
Very pleased with everything that I have purchased and the quick delivery! Thank you for providing a wonderful selection in so many categories.
Ian
TX, United States
2013-11-08
Superb design and quality fabric. All the workmanship was excellent, sans a loose button. I restitched all button with a very heavy thread to be sure I don't lose one.

United States
2013-11-08
Crossdrawjohn
AR, United States
2013-11-08
Bought this shirt to add some color to a brown --- black wardrobe. Really like the shirt and everyone that has seen it loves it. We do reenactments here in Arizona and attend a lot of western activates and festivals. Really well made and comfortable.
Crossdrawjohn
AR, United States
2013-11-08
I have bought a lot of clothing from here and when I have had to call or E-mail them they have ALWAYS been great. Quick to return your E-mail and they are super friendly on the phone. I will continue to buy from them and I'm very satisfied overall. Thanks Historical Emporium.

IN, United States
2013-11-08
Perfect. Just as advertised, true to size and pretty well made. Shipped very fast. I'll order again for sure.
1915 Model T Speedster
United States
2013-11-08
The cap arrived safely and timely. I liked the looks and construction of the cap. When I tried it on my head, it was too small for me. I had full intentions of returning the cap at that point. My 20 year old son walked by as I was trying on the cap and said, "Cool cap, I want it!" When he tried it on, it fit him perfectly. He and that cap are now inseparable. I have to agree that he looks very sharp on him. Now I am under pressure to finish the 1915 Ford Model T speedster and teach him to drive it.
J Morgan
FI, United States
2013-11-08
A high quality item, superb fit and colour. Love it

MI, United States
2013-11-08
My only hangup with these Gaiters is they weren't from a matching pair. The gaiters are very used which ended up being great, but being from two different previous owners they weren't worn/aged the same. Very cool product and matched my halloween costume great!

MI, United States
2013-11-08
I purchased this vest with the hope of being able to wear it outside of costuming. I am not disappointed, the fit and finish on the vest is great and assume it will hold up as any garment should. Thanks for great product.

MI, United States
2013-11-08
I purchased this coat for a Plague Doctor costume that I put together, The coat is a little on the slim side but worked out great for me, I am 6ft 195lbs. I waxed the canvas to give it a stiff and aged look with melted paraffin and beeswax. I really like this coat and can't wait to find another excuse to use it.
Denise
IL, United States
2013-11-08
This cameo is not only good for costumes, but would look good on the right outfit you would wear now.
Denise
IL, United States
2013-11-08
I have had so many compliments on this suit. It was perfect for the play I was in. Your sizes do run small, though. But I love it.
Denise
IL, United States
2013-11-08
I spoke to a lovely woman, who helped me get what I wanted in a short amount of time. Her suggestions were life-saving. This will be where I go if I ever need another product.
Jacquie H
NC, United States
2013-11-08
I purchased this jacket for a Halloween costume and it fit perfectly. I had many compliments on it and look forward to wearing it again!
Jacquie
NO, United States
2013-11-08
I was notified within hours of making an online purchase that the item I wanted was out of stock in my size. I picked something else and the change was handled almost immediately and shipped right away. Fabulous experience for a first time buyer from this company.
Jasen S
NV, United States
2013-11-08
It's very hard for me to find good footwear in unusual styles, because my feet are long and slim. These boots fit like a glove though! (punny?). Good leather, good attention to detail. Like any good boot I've owned in the past, they do need a little breaking in before you go out in them. It took a little longer to receive these boots compared to the rest of my order because they had to be special ordered, but they still came in on time

PA, United States
2013-11-08
I normally do not take the time to write a review for anything, but for the quality of Historical Emporium's customer service and products, they deserved tons of praise! I live on the East Coast and asked them to overnight a high collar dress shirt and paisley ascot from their store on the West Coast. I received it the next day, as promised! The shirt was a perfect fit too! They were also very knowledgeable and helpful in helping me to select the right garment/accessory. I look forward to shopping with them again; I'll find a reason! I wouldn't think twice before recommending them to a friend or associate. On every level, they exceeded my expectations! Thank you very much! ;)
Jasen S
NV, United States
2013-11-08
Good trousers for any role playing occasion. I was very happy with the purchase. The legs on mine weren't very thick though, leaving a tighter feel than what I'm used too. I'm about 6'4" and 195lbs, athletic build, so if you have really thick legs, you may want to inquire further about this item. Also it's dry clean only.
David Langille
ON, Canada
2013-11-08
This is my first time purchasing products from The Historical Emporium, and it will NOT be my last . I ordered my derby hat and was very impressed with the product and the shipping time. I would DEFINATELY recommend this site to anyone who is interested in this type of clothing and accessories !
Stevie
IL, United States
2013-11-08
Perfect shirt. Quality great.
Tim Heafner
NO, United States
2013-11-08
Very nice cap, but was a little too big for me. I used your measuring guide but should have ordered a size smaller (medium).
Tim Heafner
NO, United States
2013-11-08
Very nice product
Tim Heafner
NO, United States
2013-11-08
Very nice trousers. Even nicer than I expected, very heavy material, will make great work pants.
Sir Richard
United States
2013-11-08
M'Lady LOVED it! Nice quality! Arrived quickly~
Ryan
MI, United States
2013-11-08
These pants are very thick and durable, while being stylish and comfortable. The only drawbacks: They refuse to stay ironed when worn, and they fuzz a bit in the wash. Still worth it.
Ryan
MI, United States
2013-11-08
A dandy accoutrement for any gent of means. Made for a big skull.
Richard
TE, United States
2013-11-08
perfect fit! awesome fabric and the quality is much higher than I expected
Richard
TE, United States
2013-11-08
Just as described. I am very pleased with everything I have received.
Richard
TE, United States
2013-11-08
the order was correct and shipped in a timely manner. Will always do my historic shopping with Historic Emporium!
Doug Nemeth
CA, United States
2013-11-08
I am very happy with my order i showed my mom and dad this item i tried it and it fots well my parents was very happy with this i am looking forword to ware it again
Doug Nemeth
CA, United States
2013-11-08
they ware very helpful and honest i got my order on time and i awould order from this place again. i am very happy wiith the servce i would order again from here
Captain Veritas
FL, United States
2013-11-09
A Beautifully made piece, The color and size is beyond expectations. I will wear it and other clothing l purchased before regularly. Great work G. Emporium; it's good to see that companies make clothes from future past.
Greg Tams
CO, United States
2013-11-09
I knew I wanted the two tone double gun the second I saw the picture. I am extremely happy with the gun belt. Only problem was that I took your sizing advise and the belt was three inches to big. I modified it to fit, then I bought a second revolver to fill it.
Greg Tams
CO, United States
2013-11-09
I immediately found exactly what I was looking for. My gun belt was even better than I expected. Service was excellent. I will purchase from you in the future and will definitely recommend you to others.

United States
2013-11-09
it would be great if I had some sort of instruction on how to tie this since I am new to this type of dress.

United States
2013-11-09
Covered in a peel-off protective film.

United States
2013-11-09
Buttons are nice quality, feel like metal. Not cheap plastic buttons. I liked everything except one button was attached out of alignment so I had to cut and re-sew it.

United States
2013-11-09
Nice goggles, but the strap and the strap tighteners are notably chintzy. The goggles themselves are fantastic.

United States
2013-11-09
More brown than black. Nice item though!
Michael A. Rubin
CA, United States
2013-11-09
There are several factors that I have decided to write a review for Historical Emporium. I am not one to "review" products or give feedback. I ordered on-line and liked the ability to have several photos to choose from...helping to give me a good picture of what the merchandise would look like. I have ordered several vests on-line from other vendors over the past 2 years, but find the "quality" of merchandise far above what other on-line merchants offer. The price is a bit more, however you get what you pay for. Months ago; I ordered a few vest and unfortunately; I ordered the wrong size. I followed the return policy link and printed out a simple return form, boxed...and returned 2 vests. I was promptly refunded my charges and have subsequently re-ordered and have had delivered the correct size for my wardrobe. I will continue to shop Historical Emporium exclusively...for my on-line shopping needs. Thank you. Michael A. Rubin
Geoff King
SO, United States
2013-11-09
Just what I was looking for, the cloth could be a bit heavier for my liking, but that's a minor quibble.
Chad
WA, United States
2013-11-09
Nice hat, good color, well made. Well worth the price, quick shipping and excellent customer service. I would have given it 5 stars, but I wear a 7 5/8 fitted and the XL is a little too tight, although not enough for me to go through the hassle of making a return.
Chad
WA, United States
2013-11-09
Great customer service, bar none.
Karrie
MA, United States
2013-11-09
I was looking all over for a pair of long black lace gloves and these fit my vision perfectly! In person they look amazing and are excellent quality, Thank You.
Alex
IL, United States
2013-11-09
I made additions to my order and you took care of everything. The order was complete and accurate
Alex
IL, United States
2013-11-09
The shirt is very nice. I love it. The only problem is that the shirts sleeves on the shirts are too long and inconsistent length. I have ordered several shirts from you and they are all great but too long for those of us with shorter arms
Didymus Houston
United States
2013-11-09
Having grown up watching the television western series of Bat Masterson (starring Gene Berry), I always wanted a walking stick like his. Seeing the one western Emporium offered, I was intrigued with its faux ivory grip with silver accents. Upon ordering it, I often reviewed the brilliant white grip of the stick (displayed on the website) as I awaited its arrival. I was not only amazed upon actually handling it, I was stunned when I discovered the faux ivory was so realistic that I could actually see an aged, yellowish appearance; but even more so, the detail within the grip reflects the actual, realistic grain of elephant teeth ivory. Others who have examined this walking stick are shocked when they are informed that it is faux ivory, not pure ivory. I could not be more pleased or more proud. Even Bat Masterson would be envious. By the way, the western Emporium faux ivory walking stick accents my ivory gripped pistols!!.
Didymus Houston
AR, United States
2013-11-09
Having become aware of the fashions available through Western Emporium by a gentleman who wore the "authentic cowboy" look in WALMART, I inquired of his attire and, thus, began my journey to upgrade my own wardrobe. I have ordered several vests, shirts, cravats, and the faux ivory walking stick and, upon close examination, found they were flawless in quality and appearance. I especially liked the metal buttons on vests and shirts. Like the person I met at WALMART, I also now "turn heads" as I browse through the aisles. The ladies (though they present a false indiscriminate glance), they notice. Men know that women notice clothes. Wearing these new "authentic cowboy" fashions at restaurants, hotels, and even in public parks strolling with my wife, I have observed that people address me as "Sir" in an honorable fashion (even those of my own age or even older); often adding positive comments to the attire. Although the old proverb states, "Clothes do not make the man," is a true statement regarding what is within a man's heart, I have found that this change in wardrobe has gained a respect from the public as they eagerly seek to honor the "cowboy" of American legend.

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service