Prices and Availability Subject to Change. Please call 800-997-4311 for more Information.





Shopper Award

Historical Emporium Reviews & Ratings - Customer Service



At Historical Emporium, we aim to deliver truly excellent customer service.

We use Shopper Approved, an independent customer ratings service, to ensure that we are meeting that promise, and we invite you to browse ALL of our customer reviews to judge for yourself.

Please contact us if you have any questions.

Note: the reviews below were collected prior to our joining Shopper Approved in November 2013, and are excluded from the summary statistics above.



Customer Reviews, Week Ending 2012-10-14

Lawrence Smith
NJ, United States
2012-10-11
I have worn the holster twice and like its appearance. My S&W model 10 pistol fits well and I am pleased. I am somewhat concerned as the dye seems to be fading onto the pants that I have worn with it. I am hoping that will stop in time.

United States
2012-10-08
My western bun belt is perfect. It's all I expected

United States
2012-10-08
This looks quite good, but the tack part seems a little fragile. It did not break, which is why 4 stars, but it seems like one day it will.

United States
2012-10-08
The material for these is a bit cheap, and the clasps don't always hold, but they do their job.

United States
2012-10-08
The material is pretty sheer and the shirts seem to run large. I wore it with a vest, so not much of an issue, but hardly form-fitting.

United States
2012-10-08
These pants are great, warm, and with deep pockets. You'll most likely need them hemmed, but that's to be expected.

United States
2012-10-08
The material is pretty rigid, so to sit properly it looks best tacked down.
Tammy
OH, United States
2012-10-08
We purchased these suspenders for my daughter's wedding. The young men looked so handsome and they lent to the romantic rustic feel of the wedding. Very happy with the purchase.
Kurt Zimmerle
MI, United States
2012-10-09
I love the Baker City vest, I just got the gray one to add to all the other colors I already have. I wear them daily for my work. they fit and look is great. thanks so much for making a great American made product!

NC, United States
2012-10-09
I am always skeptical about ordering clothes online, especially something so unusual compared to my normal everyday wear. I was thrilled when these arrived, the fit was perfect, they've very comfortable, well-made, and they look great.

NC, United States
2012-10-09
I ordered this along with the matching trousers and we pleased to see how well it fit and how well-made it was. I would definitely recommend this ensemble to anyone looking for durable non-costume period clothing.
Kevin Patrick Schulte
MI, United States
2012-10-09
The quality of this gun belt is tremendous. I am so glad I found this site to order from, and the price was better than others also.

FL, United States
2012-10-09
These goggles are perfect for re-enacting. I will be using them accent my 18th century pirate garb. Nice!

United States
2012-10-09
This was purchased as a birthday gift for my 30 year old son. He was delighted. I Looked at your website for a gift after he attended a steam punk concert for the first time. He asked where I got the shirt - a good sign, and it fit him. Thanks!
Becky DeWitt
WI, United States
2012-10-09
Dress fit well, and is well made. Pictures a fair and accurate representation of product. Dress arrived within the specified time. I had purchased this dress along with some lace gloves to do a ghost walk in my city in an area which is mostly victorian homes.

United States
2012-10-09
I purchased the gloves to go with a dress to complete the outfit. The gloves are as represented however I do wish that there were options as to sizes. I have small hands and these gloves are rather large for me. Product did arrive in the time stated by the company.
Nicolette Longo
NE, United States
2012-10-09
I love it. I wear alot of vests & this one received alot of complements from people. It's great quality, fit & color really make me look great if I do say so myself. I think I may buy some other colors because I really like the style.
Nicolette Longo
NE, United States
2012-10-09
I love it. It's alittle big on me but I like it better than my Tuxedo shirt with my ties. I should have gotten one size smaller because it's very "blousy" so it's a slightly bigger fit. But it's great, I just wear a vest over it or a dresss jacket & I'm good to go.
Lady Sinnomen
TX, United States
2012-10-09
Excellent quality and fit - looks amazing on my handsome escort!

United States
2012-10-09
Fast shipping. The product came as I expected.
Nicolette Longo
NE, United States
2012-10-09
I love it! I've always wanted this style shirt but could never find it..... Thanks, i've received so many compliments.
Nicolette Longo
NE, United States
2012-10-09
I love it! It's a bit smaller than I had expected but it is still very useful. I had hoped the pouch was removable but i can work around it. I also got one as a gift for a friend & they absolutely love it.
Nicolette Longo
NE, United States
2012-10-09
I love it! It's a great addition to my pin collection. A good size too.
Sharon Schroeder
TN, United States
2012-10-09
The shirt was a very good fit. It arrived right away. Would order from this site again.
James Rakestraw
MS, United States
2012-10-09
This vest fits perfectly and goes with any type of clothing, vintage or modern. I would recommend it for Wild West reenactors and Civil War reenactors.
Azure Wildfire
United States
2012-10-09
I bought these spats as a costume add on. I like them but the reason I give them 4 stars is because of sizing. I order the medium/large size and they fit like a medium/small. We're talking super snug round the ankle unless you've got toothpick legs. Other than that, they look good, are durable, and I like the detailing on the buttons.
Milton Grasle
IL, United States
2012-10-09
Joe Mauro
United States
2012-10-09
Absolutely perfect for what I wanted. My .357 fits perfect, great value and quality leather. Very , very inexpensive, great value at a great price.
Azure Wildfire
United States
2012-10-09
I was a little reluctant to buy this shirt because of the pictures but I bought it anyway and I am SO glad I did! I love the way it looks! It goes great with my costume but it also looks good over blue jeans or just about anything else for that matter.
Monica Haney
KS, United States
2012-10-09
This day suit is beautiful. I am very excited about wearing it to an upcoming event. Love the color and the quality. Definitely recommend this product. Historical Emporium is awesome to do business with. I will be ordering more items from them in the near future. Thank you for being so great!!
Joe Mauro
FL, United States
2012-10-09
I purchased 2 holsters, one for my .357 magnum and one for my .44 magnum. My weapons fit the holsters perfectly. Great quality leather and very inexpensive for what I received. I recommend Historical Emporium to anyone interested in quality and inexpensive leather. The ladies I dealt with on the telephone when I ordered were absolutely polite, professional and helpful.
James Dennis Caudle
NO, United States
2012-10-09
I purchased the ascot for our Church Christmas program in December. It will go perfectly with the rest of my Old English Medley costume. I'll probably be purchasing a green and purple vest from you for Christmas. Thanks for your excellent products. You are top notch!

United States
2012-10-09
just like it says, extremely authentic, high quality craftmenship, fits head well, i'm a girl with average sized head :) very happy for the purchase, will be perfect for my vintage aviator halloween costume
Greg Etheridge
FL, United States
2012-10-09
Very authentic and well made.

United States
2012-10-09
great little pair of goggles - not totally flattering on me but that is not their fault, just the style. i love the little case, they definitely seem authentic - have not tried scratching off paint for gold finish, think i will leave them dark. can't beat for the price if this is the look you are going for.
JWThomas
ID, United States
2012-10-09
Excellent hat. Well made, fits, several praises from friends.
Amber Rose
TE, United States
2012-10-09
I ordered these vests for my wedding,and they were everything I could have hoped for! They are beautiful, great quality, and were shipped to me very quickly! I wish I could send pictures so everyone could see how Great they looked at the wedding!!!!
Jason Patterson "Zap"
OH, United States
2012-10-09
Much better quality than I expected. Has a very nice texture and feels great wrapped around my face riding my motorbike down the road. Perfect length as well, many scarfs are too short. So many times I am slightly disappointed in my interweb purchases, this one was a real treat. Cheers.
Jules T
NC, United States
2012-10-09
Jules T
NC, United States
2012-10-09
This monocle is quite fun. My 15 year old son found out he needed glasses recently and announced, "I'm going to wear a monocle." Seeing as he needed correction for both eyes they wasn't really an option! However, I had to fulfill his request and ordered him this prop version along with a nice mustache. He now declares he needs a vest as well. The whole look is coming together nicely. Wish I could put a corrective lens in this frame though.
Pam Trader
MD, United States
2012-10-09
We used these in a 'behind the scenes' photo of the groomsmen for my son's wedding, unbeknownst to the bride. She will enjoy this when they return from their honeymoon next week:) Great quality - great fun. Thank you.
pam trader
MD, United States
2012-10-09
We used these in a 'behind the scenes' photo of the groomsmen for my son's wedding, unbeknownst to the bride. She will enjoy this when they return from their honeymoon next week:) Great quality - great fun. Thank you.

United States
2012-10-09
quality product that was delivered super fast - highly recommended!

United States
2012-10-09
Love the skirt. Well made and true to size. Hope you someday make it in other colors and fabrics.

United States
2012-10-09
Really nice, good quality and length is okay
Marcia Clauisng
MT, United States
2012-10-09
Outstanding craftsmanship sets this piece apart. What a delight to get an item that will NOT require me to sew buttons back on after a few wearings. A great value for the quality, and a very distinctive addition to my wardrobe. Shipment was extremely quick, too!

United States
2012-10-09
Really nice, good quality and length is okay
Michele Ashton
TX, United States
2012-10-09
This was an excellent choice for our Gala, my husband won second place in the costume contest.
Brenda Brooks
NM, United States
2012-10-09
I am a tall girl (5'11"), and these are actually long enough! The quality, workmanship is outstanding! I am also very impressed how fast you shipped these to me. I will buy from you again

United States
2012-10-09
Great Tie ! I love the narrow size.
Marcia Clausing
MT, United States
2012-10-09
I love this vest! The moment I put it on, I felt a boost in my confidence, perhaps a jolt of that "bully" spirit. This will be my go-to piece for big meetings. Exemplary tailoring, beautiful fabrics. This experience with the Emporium has secured them a devoted new customer.
Katrine MacTruong
CA, United States
2012-10-09
This vest was true to the representaion in H.E.'s advert. The colour was spot on & looks smashing on my man. Excellent value, finer material than the tux-4-hire shops. Product arrived on time, and in mint condition. We have since purchased the complete outfit without hesitation. I have forwarded this site to all my friends and associates. Excellent 'toe-in-the-tub' product if you are hessitant to purchase. Merci H.E.! K
Mary
FL, United States
2012-10-09
My item arrived days earlier than I thought it would and it perfect condition. I am very impressed with the quality, you definitely get what you pay for...and then some. I ordered a corset to go with my Halloween costume this year. I went according to their sizing guidance and the size is perfect. VERY sexy. I will definitely order from the Ladies Emporium again!
Tiffany Neilson
CA, United States
2012-10-09
I would have given this jacket 5 stars if not for the sizing. I bought it for my daughters steampunk Halloween costume and a M fits her perfect. She's a child's size 14! There is no way these are adult sizes unless they are for tiny adults. The quality is fantastic and the detail perfect just be aware of the sizing.
Marcia Clausing
MT, United States
2012-10-09
What a beautiful piece. I get so many compliments when I wear this, and I feel so 'girlie'. As with everything I have purchased from the Emporium, the service, value, quality of materials and craftsmanship are over the top. My continued patronage is guaranteed.
Dennis Lee Broome
NO, United States
2012-10-09
Great looking hat. The original hat I recieved was in a size other than that ordered. Historical Emporium remedied the situatuion rapidly and courteously. You would pay much, much more elsewhere to obtain a Homburg of this quality.
Dennis Lee Broome
NO, United States
2012-10-09
I am delighted with this hat. I plan to wear it with suits and not as a costume. I will most likely order another in a different color. I'm on a solo campaign to bring back the day wen men typically wore hats.
Dennis Lee Broome
NO, United States
2012-10-09
I've looked long and hard for a functional bamboo cane. This fills the bill. I've already walked several miles with it and it is a perfect companion when I go out for a "wee stretch of the legs."
Dennis Lee Broome
NO, United States
2012-10-09
The can I recieved was even more attractive than the one pictured on line. It fits nicely in the hand and is great for an evening stroll. Historical Emporium's service has been excellent. All items I have ordered have been delivered promptly and were as good or better that the on-line description.
LD Beghtol
NY, United States
2012-10-09
It's a great shirt! Very well made and sturdy, and nicely finished. The elusive club collar is very dashing. Please note that the cut is typically old-fashioned and generous in the body, so it'll be a bit blousy compared to modern, trimmer-fitting men's dress shirts a la J Crew, etc. The metal buttons are a little problematic, too; a little large and heavy (visually) for my tastes, so I replaced them with some very trad flat pearl ones. Also, the fabric is quite heavy -- more like a cambric than a traditional men's light-weight dress shirt fabric. I'd really love shirts in this cut/style but made up in a better quality lawn or similar shirting fabric. All in all, though, an excellent garment -- which I will wear often with a cardigan and tie to the office. Thanks!
LD Beghtol
NY, United States
2012-10-09
Excellent garment, lovely fabric (if a bit heavier than traditional men's shirting) and very well made overall. The collar is a fun hybrid of band collar and baby wingtip. My one cavil is that there is that there are too many buttons on the front: the bottom button is set so close to the end of the placket that it isn't fully functional, and it just looks awkward. Perhaps a slight revision is in order? Still, it's a gem of a shirt, especially since men's pull-ver style dress shirts are very hard to find these days.

United States
2012-10-09
The item is good quality. The attached strap is a bit short to be functional around the neck, but could be affixed to the jacket or waistcoat. The only REAL problem i have with the monocle is that it doesn't fit my ocular cavity without a highly furrowed brow. Essentially, i can't get it to stay on my face without looking like i'm extremely angry.
Lambs
CA, United States
2012-10-09
Just what we were looking for. Speedy service. You guys are the best.

United States
2012-10-09
Received a lot of compliments, fit well, sturdy, very happy

United States
2012-10-09
Excellent workmanship. Most comfotable pair of trousers I own.

United States
2012-10-09
Received a lot of compliments. Tie was the real deal, not a haloween costume. Looked great with the drake vest and top hat
Isaiah
CA, United States
2012-10-09
I bought this for my wedding. The vest looks exactly like the picture. Slightly warmer tones under yellow indoor lighting, whiter tones outdoors, but no variation to be concerned about. A beautiful cream colored vest with a snappy sheen, with offsetting paisley(-ish?) pattern, also sheen. Size-wise, I'm a 6' guy with somewhat of a barrel chest (maybe a little extra too), and a large fit me fine, although a little short. As a side note, this store is awesome. I live relatively close and went down to the actual warehouse to return my initial order of a medium for a large to avoid shipping hassles. The staff was completely friendly and helpful - they even let me try on some other items I was considering! One of the best customer service experiences I've ever had.
John Carrington
SC, United States
2012-10-09
The walking suit arrived as promised and fits my lovely wife perfectly without any alterations needed. The garment is well made as is the hoop skirt and her shoes all of which came together. It would help anyone looking thru your site to list the garments by periods ..i.e. 1859 to 1865. As a history major I know that many of the styles worn during the aformentioned period tend to be included in the "Victorian era" however there are differences in styles though minute in some cases that reflect the wearers knowledge of the period they are representing.
Matt Alexander
FL, United States
2012-10-09
William Thompson
NV, United States
2012-10-09
This is an AMAZING coat! The brocade texture is a beautiful detail and, as a lot of reviews have stated, the photos just don't do it justice! The tails are long, but that's the point of the coat. I am 6' tall and they are a liltte below the knee. The fit does feel tight, but that is the style. This is a perfect piece for my Victorian vampire costume, but will also look great as part of a steam punk costume (or both!).
John Carrington
SC, United States
2012-10-09
The coat which bears my name arrived in good order along with the vest, shoes ,tie and hat they are well made and well tailored. Please refer to my comments included with the evaluatioin of my wifes items they also apply here.
Mary Morris
CA, United States
2012-10-09
This is a wonderful coat. We ended up with a size smaller than I normal, but the fit is very good, no alterations were needed at all.
William Thompson
NV, United States
2012-10-09
When I first saw the shirt online, I kind of giggled and thought, "Hey! It's the shirt from that 'Seinfeld' episode!" But, it really is a great period piece for a lot of costume ideas. The only problem I found is that the neck runs small and, as such, is difficult to button. It does not fit like your standard dress shirt and I would like to see more of a cotton blend instead of all synthetic. Also, the description says that the sleeves are intentionally long- they didn't seem to be to me, but I just might have longer arms and the fit was fine. However, over all, it's a great shirt.
michelle egger
CA, United States
2012-10-09
The skirt is fantastic. It came in a reasonable amount of time and my wife really really loves it.
William Thompson
NV, United States
2012-10-09
This is an great buy! It is not a cheaply made item like you would find in a costume store. It is real glass and wood and a beautiful piece. It has a nice, sturdy feel to it and looks like I spent much more than I did for it.
Virginia Ann Zipperer
VA, United States
2012-10-09
I am disappointed with the blouse that I purchased; while gorgeous and well made, it appears to have a slight stain on the back, right in the very center. I didn't notice it since I didn't open the package until right before I was going to use it and then it was too late to return it. Otherwise, the quality of the merchandise was excellent. The package had been opened before and I did wonder if I was getting a return but I didn't check it out soon enough.
Gus
TX, United States
2012-10-09
Ordered these and they came in the mail pretty quick. If there's only one concern its the buckle catch at the back of the trousers. I've owned another pair like this one and the part of the buckle which locks on to the fabric strap that goes through it didn't appear as flimsy as the one on this pair. It did the job, don't get me wrong. It just looks like a paperclip bent into buckle catch shape than a true buckle. Other than that a true test of the pants' sturdyness was when I fell off a moving bicycle and the pants didn't tear! Awesome! One other word: EXCELLENT Customer Service!! Leslie was kind enough to stop the order I'd placed in error and replaced those pants with these, which were the ones I'd wanted to begin with. Having dealt with other sutlers who basically go "Too bad. You'll just have to ship the wrong stuff back at your expense!" you can't praise someone like Leslie enough!
Duamuteffe
United States
2012-10-09
The picture doesn't do this vest justice; when the light hits it, it shines. It was complimented several times over the course of the evening. The tones in the pattern are chocolate brown, black, old gold, and rusty orange. It went just as well with a brown cravat and brown pants as it does with the black pants and cravat in the photo pictured. Lovely quality, and even has spare covered buttons in event of a mishap.
Happy Bride
IL, United States
2012-10-09
Yes, somewhere between medieval and vintage is how, I suppose, one would describe my wedding theme. So blending everything together has been a difficult task. But these ties (the Paisley Ascot - Silver for my husband, and the Lively Paisley Ascot - Gold for the groomsmen) are absolutely PERFECT. A cutaway tuxedo, a thistle boutonniere, and voila! You instantly have stunning gentlemen! They arrived super quick in excellent condition, and I highly recommend this company.
Manny Gallegos
CO, United States
2012-10-09
I was completely satisfied with the quality and deliver of the holster. I originally also ordered a Cartridge Belt. See that for other comments.
Rachel
MI, United States
2012-10-09
These are definitely pantaloons. They serve as nice undergarments... But "Deluxe"? They're nice, but pretty standard.
Happy Bride
IL, United States
2012-10-09
Yes, somewhere between medieval and vintage is how, I suppose, one would describe my wedding theme. So blending everything together has been a difficult task. But these ties (the Paisley Ascot - Silver for my husband, and the Lively Paisley Ascot - Gold for the groomsmen) are absolutely PERFECT. A cutaway tuxedo, a thistle boutonniere, and voila! You instantly have stunning gentlemen! They arrived super quick in excellent condition, and I highly recommend this company.
Cedric Seaman
CA, United States
2012-10-09
I purchased the monoggle expecting it to be an instant part of my steampunk costume. While it is better than many of the elope-brand goggles I've been seeing around, I can't help feeling a little dorky wearing it, especially with the giant elastic band on it. It's really awesome, but I tend to prefer to wear it with a hat, so as to cover up the band. Overall, great product, but less unive3rsal in style than I was expecting. The customer service, however, is phenomenal! :) I asked for style reccommendations, nand they totally e-mailed me with reccomendations for style depending on what I was going for. Very cool. :)
Janus Zarate
CA, United States
2012-10-09
This has unquestionably replaced my previous coat for neo-Victorian/goth/steampunk outings. It is now a regular part of my attire with steampunk band Vernian Process. Bravo for adding this to your catalog!
RC
GA, United States
2012-10-09
Quality seems above average.
Manny Gallegos
CO, United States
2012-10-09
I was completely satisfied with the quality of the belt. My problem was that your site did not provide a clear cut explanation on how to determine the correct size to order. I odered according to the belt size I normally buy. In my case a 36". When the order arrived as I expected. I tried it on and found I could only reach the first hole on the belt. I promptly repackaged and returned it (at my expense) and requested the next larger size (38). When I received it I tried it on and I couldn't reach the first belt hole; it was clearlysmaller than the 36". I called and discussed it with one of your customer rep's. Incidentally all of them were very professional. After discussing with the rep I didn't feel confortable in the process to determine the size and decided to return it for credit. I ended up ordering the belt from one of your competitors. I originally also ordered a holster. See that for other comments.
Anthony A. Foust
KA, United States
2012-10-09
I buy from the Historical Emporium every year, and they have not failed yet in creating room silencing costumes, classy outfits, and the most competitive dress clothes I own. Huge kudos to you!
DEBBIE KUYKENDALL
SC, United States
2012-10-09
was great
Heather
CO, United States
2012-10-09
Fit well, looked absolutely AWESOME, was exactly what I was looking for.
Heather
CO, United States
2012-10-09
Looked great, made the outfit, and so reasonably priced that when the horse stepped on it after the wedding because it fell of the hanger I didn't cry!

WA, United States
2012-10-09
Only place I could find spare colored lenses to customize my welders goggles. Good quality, great price and fast shipping.

WA, United States
2012-10-09
Nice little addition to my steampunk display. Very nice at a great price.
Terry Arnold
TE, United States
2012-10-09
The dress fit my wife as if it were custom made for her. She received a lot of compliments.

United States
2012-10-09
For a mini top hat, it is exactly what I wanted. Good price and nice quality. It is permanently angled to the side, by the way it's attached to the head band, which is what I wanted.

United States
2012-10-09
This globe watch is beautiful. I have seen something similar for twice the price at another store. The gears at the back show nicely through the globe and the face is very pretty.

United States
2012-10-09
This jacket is really nice. I feel it runs a bit small, especially through the shoulders/upper arms. Good quality and very polished looking.
Pamela Witte
NE, United States
2012-10-09
Love this utility belt. Holds all my tiny steampunk accessories very nicely. Well built, supple leather. Just great! Arrived on time.
Brian K. Sorenson
CA, United States
2012-10-09
This coat is fantastic, the fit perfect and the material and workmanship top notch. The price was very reasonable for the quality of this coat, in fact, I would have paid more, but why argue about price....
tom farer
CO, United States
2012-10-09
I would prefer a zipper, less authentic, to be sure, but so much more convenient.

United States
2012-10-09
Came very quickly. My husband wore them for our wedding. They fit great and had a great real leather look that fit the time period. Love them and will order again.
Paul Preston
MA, United States
2012-10-09
I bought these goggles as part of a mad scientist costume, and my 14 year old son saw me removing them from the package. He took them from me and excitedly asked if he could wear them to school for "Wacky Wednesday" during homecoming week. The goggles were very popular at school and raised his reputation (and his ego) quite a bit. Needless to say the quality materials survived getting passed around at high school, they are very comfy and I am sure they will do just fine in my costume.
Sara Banfield
PA, United States
2012-10-09
The skirt makes you feel all curvy in a good way. It does fit a little tight so order up from your normal size. Overall very vampy for a victorian.

HA, United States
2012-10-09
These glasses are exactly what I needed for my Ms. Lemon costume this Halloween. They are well made and have the exact style I was looking for. Thanks Historical Emporium!

HA, United States
2012-10-09
The bowtie has warm subtle colors that glow and is the perfect bowtie for my Husband's Halloween costume this year. It is well made and the material is very nice! Thanks for the great products Historical Emporium!
Cullen Dwyer
NM, United States
2012-10-09
this hat appears well-made, and was very handsome when I took it out of the box. However, when I tried it on, it was too short from front to back, and much too wide. I could fit my hands between the hat and the sides of my head. The fit was so poor, I sent it back. Too bad, because it was just the look I wanted!
Stefan
United States
2012-10-09
The shipping and processing was superb. They fit great and feel comfortable. There was a hair thin scratch on the inside rim on the exterior of the goggles. It's only visible at super close distances, ad doesn't even warrant a return on my part due to the overall quality of the rest of the piece.
Robert
MD, United States
2012-10-09
Love it, great fit and look
Robert
MD, United States
2012-10-09
Many complements to the makers of this one. Looks, feels and fits great.
Sandra Kahn
MA, United States
2012-10-09
While this outfit looked lovely when it arrived, it did not fit right. I ordered a size Medium. The bodice was much too big (both tall and wide), but the skirt was tight. I would have made do and just altered it, but the top is rather complicated and beyond my skills. Also, it did not appear to be "satin" at all, although it was pretty. I put it in the mail today to return. I hope to try again with another one of your products as they do look very nice, but may be too hard for me to purchase online due to sizing problems.
Elinor Parker
NE, United States
2012-10-09
The Statesman Walking Stick arrived in record time and in great condition. It looks lovely in our production of Pirates of Penzance--the Major General uses it. The walking stick is a great accessory to his costume. I like that this one has a skid-resistant bottom and doesn't need one of those ugly rubber stoppers. It makes this walking stick perfect for period stage productions.
Glen Gustafson
CA, United States
2012-10-09
This is the fastest product delivery ever. I ordered online and the notice that it had been shipped came the next day. The size is perfect, and the weave is substantial without being heavy. Many hats, new favorite.
Doug Van Allen
OR, United States
2012-10-09
I bought this cap for a steampunk wedding (not mine...) and like it so much, it's replaced the baseball cap I usually wear when going to outdooor social functions. It's well made and the price was right
Natasha
United States
2012-10-09
The first time I ordered from this company, I received my product within 4 business days. The item was exactly what I was looking for and I'll definetely be ordering from Historical Emporium again!
Prof. Lazlo E. Cogsbottom
CA, United States
2012-10-09
This coat arrived and I was awed by the beauty and craftsmanship. It's debut will be at a Christmas party that is NOT victorian themed where I hope to be the hit of the party. Nothing says Christmas like a well dressed victorian man in a Tailcoat and Top hat. My only complaint is the outside pocket not being a real pocket (where does one put their Handkerchief?)
karuna
NJ, United States
2012-10-09
Pretty enough boot, but leather was thin and crispy -- more like "pleather." As advised, we ordered an 11 when usually a size 10 (no 10 1/2), and they were too large. Returned.
Kevin Francis
CA, United States
2012-10-09
These pants are great. I bought them for a costume, but I have already worn them to work. I've gotten quite a few compliments on them from co-workers. The fit and construction are amazing.
Dan Drewes
MO, United States
2012-10-09
A Good holster, at a Good price! It is very comfortable, and my Ruger New Model Blackhawk, with the 4 5/8" barrel fits very nicely! Shipping was FAST, and I am Very Pleased with my purchase!
Jesse Adams
KS, United States
2012-10-09
Fits great, looks great, very durable and all around wonderful!! You folks are THE best!!
Jesse Adams
KS, United States
2012-10-09
Very dressy and a nice little addition to the wardrobe.
Charles A. Meyer
NY, United States
2012-10-09
Any would-be victorian/Edwardian gentleman needs at least one pair of trousers like these. Wearing them transports one to Teddy Roosevelt's Washington and Victoria's Court of St. James.
Charles A. Meyer
NY, United States
2012-10-09
Along with a pair of Thurston striped trousers, one simply must have a cutaway coat. Teddy Roosevelt favored just the same sort of attire. So did Sherlock Holmes and Prince Albert. What better company could one wish for? This coat is bully when the game is afoot.
Lauren Wilson
CA, United States
2012-10-09
Okay there are several reasons I love this skirt. The fabric is really good quality, and the floral design adds a really cool Celtic feel. It has pull ties, which I love because every woman needs a little adjustment. And it's true to its name - I swirled in it as soon as I put it on and it was perfect. A beautiful earthy, Irish green with the perfect attributes for the look, if you ask me.
Dr. Gordon
NY, United States
2012-10-09
Great vest. The quality is good. It fits well. The pockets are real. Every button is real. Best of all it looks great.
Clayton
CA, United States
2012-10-09
This watch is beautiful, especially for the price. Easy to set, open, etc. Love the detail and the open back showing the inner workings. The chain is nice too, much better than I expected it to be.
Clayton
CA, United States
2012-10-09
These things are funky and cool. They make me wish I had a WWII Harley or Indian motorcycle that I could ride to my hangar where I keep my bi-plane. They complete my steam punk outfit perfectly.
Clayton
CA, United States
2012-10-09
I like this vest. Very simply stated, which works perfectly for all my steam punk accessories.
James Suit
AR, United States
2012-10-09
Hey I got exactly what I ordered. The price and the service were and are excellent!! Thank You!
April
CA, United States
2012-10-09
I absolutely love, LOVE this skirt it looks so pretty with my whole ensemble I also bought a purple hat to go with it. It looks exactly how it does in the picture and I adore it.

United States
2012-10-09
Arrived promptly and in great condition. Great accessory for a costume or a particularly fancy outfit.
Mehrtash Ferdows
NE, United States
2012-10-10
I love the clothes I got. I love them so much I would wear victorian and wild western every day... too bad they are expensive. I have also found out that I am an old soul. Thank you.
Mehrtash Ferdows
NJ, United States
2012-10-10
I love these clothes. To bad they are expensive. I would wear them everyday. I also found out that I am an old soul.
Mehrtash Ferdows
NJ, United States
2012-10-10
I love these clothes. To bad they are expensive. I would wear them everyday. I also found out that I am an old soul.
N.T. Blankers
MI, United States
2012-10-10
Great quality, heavy enough that it is definitely well-made but not so heavy that it's cumbersome. Very comfortable to wear. I am impressed!
Anna Hopkins
WA, United States
2012-10-10
This belt is made of quality soft leather and will be perfect more than just costume applications. I would order this again and recommend you to friends.
Anna Hopkins
WA, United States
2012-10-10
This clock is so detailed and intricate and they included a battery. I am very happy with my purchase and it arrived promptly. I liked that this was an Alice in Wonderland themed item.
Anna Hopkins
WA, United States
2012-10-10
I love that these were not the banded type of glasses for a steampunk costume and yet can still be worn as regular sunglasses. These are very unique which is why I chose them. They arrived quickly and unharmed. If your are looking for something different for a costume I had a hard time finding these on any other site.
Anna Hopkins
WA, United States
2012-10-10
None of the other sites I researched had these cool model guns and they look so unique. Attention to detail is the creme of the crop even the bullets look real and the steam valves. I love the word Nemesis down the barrel I posted this to Facebook and friends commented how cool it looked but I don't think they had any idea it was a model. I hope you get some more of the big shot gun back in because I would purchase that one too. I am very happy about this purchase and it couldn't look any better. If you want a neat addition then this is it and it even came with a cool letter describing its history. I cannot say enough good things about this product except it really is special and worth every penny spent due to the fine workmanship.
Kathleen Alvitre
CA, United States
2012-10-10
Hat is beautiful but found the title deceiving. I was expecting a black and olive color hat but received a solid black hat.
Anthony Bartholomeaux
AR, United States
2012-10-10
They are perfect just what i needed there easy to wash and they dont get that dirty and they stay a bright white.
Sarah Simmons
GA, United States
2012-10-10
I purchased this skirt for a ride that my husband and I were participating in. It is very comfortable and very high quality! If you are planning on riding in it, I'm not sure how it would work on a motorcycle but it worked great with Vespas!
Sarah Simmons
GA, United States
2012-10-10
These gloves are excellent quality! I have a very hard time finding gloves that will fit me since I have very small hands, the stretchy material makes them perfect for anyone.
Sarah Simmons
GA, United States
2012-10-10
I am very impressed by the quality of this corset! I wanted to cry when I sent it back but it was only because it didn't work with my outfit how I had imagined in my head. Very nice!
Sarah Simmons
GA, United States
2012-10-10
I would love to give this shirt 5 stars but I can't. It is absolutely beautiful and very well made. However, if you are a busty girl like myself (DDD), this shirt will not fall right. It has a seam line in the bust area that you can barely see in the image. I was so sad.
Barry
NY, United States
2012-10-10
I got this shoe in size 13, which is a size that seems to vary by company. The fit was perfect, a nice comfortable shoe but in a historically accurate style. Happy with this purchase.
Barry
NY, United States
2012-10-10
I liked the style and fit of the pants. Very accurate 19th century look. They come long, and I brought them to the tailor to take them up 2". I also had to ask them to remove a large modern sewn-on label, very prominently placed on the back. I felt this was a poor idea in pants to be used for stage or reenacting purposes. Other than the label issue, this would be 5 stars.
Barry
NY, United States
2012-10-10
Well made, looks good as a common man's shirt

United States
2012-10-10
Very pleased with the cap. Sizing is spot on. Looks great. Prompt shipping. People no longer comment how distressed I am when they realize how distressed my cap is.
Rebecca Greer
NY, United States
2012-10-10
The camisole looks as pictures, except on me it does not reach my waist as it does on the mannequin. The Camisole is also somewhat see through. I bought it to be worn with an underbust corset as part of a Halloween costume. I have to wear a beige tank top underneath in order to not be indecent in public.
Karen
United States
2012-10-10
The suit is beautiful; just what I wanted.The town I grew up in holds a victorian Christmas celebration each year, and I have always wanted an outfit to wear for it. This suit fits the bill perfectly. I am looking forward to wearing it with pride.
P. Terry
CA, United States
2012-10-10
Overall - very very happy with the quality of these trousers. Pay attention to the sizing information to ensure you order a size that will atually fit you. Unless you are super tall already - you will need to alter these to your inseam... Would recommend to the manufacturer to drop the sewn-on tag/label on the back. It takes away from the authentic feel. Either drop the label altogether or sew it on the inside of the waistband where it won't be seen. I had my label removed when I had the alternations done - it didn't cost anything more - but it is an effort I would have liked to be able to avoid altogether. A very solid 5-star endorsement.
P. Terry
CA, United States
2012-10-10
No major issues - they are very adjustable and very comfortable. I'm a short person and may have actually found the smaller set a better fit overall. The large set is nearly fully adjusted out for me. The leather ends where they actually attach to the trousers seems a bit weak and flimsy. A slightly thicker end connection may hold up better over time. Solid 4 stars for fit and comfort...1 more star to gain from better quality at the attachment points.
Michael Bender
IL, United States
2012-10-10
I orderd these pants as a back up for my SASS outfit. The quality is great. Material is light, cool yet durable. The price was better than comparable items on other sites as they were on sale. They have now replaced my original pair as my go to SASS trousers.
MIchael Bender
IL, United States
2012-10-10
Great looking vest. Soft canvas material that is comfortable and durable. Looks great with the rest of my SASS 1880's Texas Ranger persona.

United States
2012-10-10
Excellent service, fast shipping and best of all I loved the cap!
Angela Francis
IO, United States
2012-10-10
I have bought things from Historical Emporium before and loved them! But this last order I was very displeased. On the site the picture looks like it has an antique look to it, but when I got the locket it was a bright smooth silver. The color didn't look anything like what was on the website. I plan to return it, and look for something else.
Michael
KE, United States
2012-10-10
This is a nice belt. Good thick leather. The only issue I have with it is that the black leather dye comes off on your hands. I would also recommend you order a size or two larger than what your hips measure.
Michael
KE, United States
2012-10-10
Good looking holster with thick leather. The only problem I have with it is the dye comes off on your hands when you first handle it. It takes a lot of rubbing to get it to the condition you need.
Michael
KE, United States
2012-10-10
Good looking holster with thick leather. The only problem I have with it is the dye comes off on your hands when you first handle it. It takes a lot of rubbing to get it to the condition you need.

United States
2012-10-10
good fit-seems like very good quality
Lauren Wilson
CA, United States
2012-10-10
This just came in the mail a few days ago and before I even took it out of the package I could tell it was good quality. The design is beautiful, very elegant (I got it with the green swirl skirt and it matches almost perfectly for that earthy style). The ribbon tie is gorgeous and a lovely light beige color to compliment the floral and green. I can tell I'm going to be wearing this for a very long time.
Lauren Wilson
CA, United States
2012-10-10
I love these gloves. If measure right, they fit snug and the insides are very soft. Good quality leather. Perfect for costumes or even just to wear as winter or driving gloves. Very comfortable and look great.
Jim Berkheimer
CA, United States
2012-10-11
Well built and lots of loops!
Jim Berkheimer
CA, United States
2012-10-11
Beautiful tooling!
Jim Berkheimer
CA, United States
2012-10-11
Perfect scabbard for my Henry rifle!
Mary Ellen Nigh
FL, United States
2012-10-11
This was my first time ordering from your website based on the recommendation of a dear friend. Let me assure you it will NOT be the last! Although the original hat that I ordered was not available your customer service department went out of their way to get me a similar product that fit the bill to a T! My husband looks so sharp in his derby hat and he and I are both very pleased with the entire transaction from start to finish. The hat's construction was top drawer. Please feel free to use any part of my review to encourage others to try out your wonderful products and website. I know I'll be recommending it to others who enjoy good quality products and service.
Carl Booth II
FL, United States
2012-10-11
Got the Coburn Great Coat for my Edgar Allan Poe costume and also used it at Disneyworld at "Mickey's Not-So-Scary-Halloween" last weekend. I went as one of the duelists from the Haunted Mansion. A lot of people knew who the character was and complemented me on how great I looked! My bride especially loved the coat! It looks great and is my favorite new costume item! Thanks for a great product! Carl
George Dixon
CA, United States
2012-10-11
I recently purchased this utility belt and upon receiving the belt it did not fit...I was bummed to say the least. (yes I did not follow the correct instructions and did not measure from my lower waist/hip area. DOH!) But after calling back and speaking with customer service they handled it with ease. I sent the belt back and was credited and I received my new belt two days later. Great customer service! I would not hesitate to place another order.
John Comerford
CO, United States
2012-10-11
Coat came with 4 of 5 buttons missing their coverings. I had to find the felt and glue them back on ! Not happy with that. Also , coat seemed thin, no backing or lining. For $ 179 I thought that should be included. Not sure if it will look authentic enough for my performances October 19- Oct 21. I play an undertaker in our Historical Society educational tour of our Frontier cemetay. Not sure if I'll use you again, although your website was well done and easy to use.
Clyde Caylor
VI, United States
2012-10-11
I have worn this hat practically everyday since recieving it. I did have to insert a little cardboard in the hat band for a proper fit. Only recomendation I would have is to have is available in Small size also.

United States
2012-10-11
These Skeleton Keys are just what I needed for my western decor
sandy gray
FL, United States
2012-10-11
Excellent service and quick turn-around, all items in impeccable condition. Will refer to friends
Patricia Ingoldsby
VI, United States
2012-10-11
We ordered a gun holster. It is beautifully made and well worth the price. They sent the wrong size, apologized for the mistake, refunded my shipping costs, and sent a new one very quickly. I appreciated the honesty, quick return and had a very positive experience.
KJ Johnston
AL, United States
2012-10-12
The leather scabbard looks fantastic with my Henry rifle. I can't wait to take this to the range and see the reaction of my fellow shooters. I would recommend this item to anyone who wants to give their rifle a cool 'look'. I am one happy customer.

United States
2012-10-12
Great skirt, true to the picture. My only issue is I can't figure out how to duplicate the look in the picture with the sinching of one side. My skirt does not seem to be able to sinch that high.
Faye Pentecost
CA, United States
2012-10-13
Battenberg Lace Fan, Fascinator- Mini Tophat, Swirl Skirt -- all the items are of excellent quality. I have ordered and received a victorian blouse, too. The quality is excellent,all the items are beautiful. I have and will continue to highly recommend this site!
Reece M
CA, United States
2012-10-11
Fast shipping and authentic product.
Stephen G
MN, United States
2012-10-10
I was very satisfied with both the products and service that I received from the Historical Emporium. My hearty thanks to you.
Mehrtash F
NJ, United States
2012-10-10
I love these clothes. To bad they are expensive. I would wear them everyday. I also found out that I am an old soul.
Gladys N
FL, United States
2012-10-09
My brother loves this stuff so I got him some suspenders and pants which fit awesomely. He will use them regularly as a middle school teacher.
Clayton S
MD, United States
2012-10-09
Extremely pleased with the overall purchasing experience, everything from the website layout to the end product. I ordered several complete Men?s victorian outfits for my daughter?s themed wedding. Product descriptions were accurate and guidance on sizes good. The tracking of my order from submittal to shipment kept me informed all along. I had two returns (due to being optimistic on my side regarding size?I?m not really that fat am I?), returns went smooth. Quality of final product is very good. Will most certainly use their services again as I can buy with complete confidence.
Ronald K
NM, United States
2012-10-09
Ruth M
CA, United States
2012-10-09
Mary M
CA, United States
2012-10-09
Customer service reps are so friendly, helpful and most of all knowledgeable about their products!
V T
CA, United States
2012-10-09
The product quality is excellent and the pricing was not outrageous. On line ordering was customer friendly and the order was navigated with ease.
Anthony A
NY, United States
2012-10-09
Swift, personal service.
Rawley B
CA, United States
2012-10-09
Amber H
VA, United States
2012-10-09
Great service, and very quick!
Greg R
RI, United States
2012-10-09
I've not found any collection as complete and well-organized as yours. I will say, though, that this is the first time I've ordered despite having wanted to for many, many years simply because the price point is somewhat high and I'd never had that sort of a chunk of change. But the site is great, the stuff is great, and the shipping and service are efficient.
David C
TX, United States
2012-10-09
Love the products and have purchased some in the past. I will be a continued customer!
Alejandro C
NM, United States
2012-10-09
Ct L
NC, United States
2012-10-09
Claremarie V
TX, United States
2012-10-09
I needed some period clothing for a production and found the best prices and availability here
Kathy H
LA, United States
2012-10-09
prompt service and good quality

Your Recently Viewed Items 


Uncommon Products, Extraordinary Service

Uncommon Products,
Extraordinary Service